The Royal Colony of South Carolina

10th Commons House of Assembly - 1733-1736
The Tenth Commons House of Assembly under Royal Rule convened on at least twenty-four (24) known occasions. The first session met from November 15th to November 17th in 1733. The second session met from December 4th to December 15th in 1733. The third session met from January 8th to January 19th in 1734. The fourth session met from January 29th to February 9th in 1734. The fifth session met from February 19th to March 9th in 1734. The sixth session met from March 25th to April 10th in 1734. The seventh session met from May 14th to May 31st in 1734. The eighth session met from November 7th to November 23rd in 1734. The ninth session met from January 14th to January 25th in 1735. The tenth session met from February 3rd to February 15th in 1735. The eleventh session met from February 25th to March 8th in 1735. The twelfth session met from March 18th to March 29th in 1735. The thirteenth session met from April 15th to May 6th in 1735. The fourteenth session met from May 27th to June 7th in 1735. The fifteenth session met from September 2nd to September 6th in 1735. The sixteenth session met from November 25th to December 6th in 1735. The seventeenth session met from January 13th to January 17th in 1736. The eighteenth session met from January 27th to February 14th in 1736. The nineteenth session met from February 24th to March 4th in 1736. The twentieth session met from March 15th to March 27th in 1736. The twenty-first session met from April 6th to April 16th in 1736. The twenty-second session met from May 4th to May 29th in 1736. The twenty-third session met from June 23rd to June 26th in 1736. The twenty-fourth session met from July 13th to July 17th in 1736.

Election District


Christ Church Parish
(2 delegates)

Elias Foissine

Andrew Rutledge

Prince George's, Winyah Parish
(2 delegates)

Richard Smith (1) / William Swinton (1)

William Waties (2) / Andrew Broughton (2)

St. Andrew's Parish
(3 delegates)

Edmund Bellinger

William Elliott

Richard Wright

St. Bartholomew's Parish
(4 delegates)

John Bee, Jr. (3) / Roger Saunders (3)

Joseph Blake

James Cochran

William Livingston

St. George's, Dorchester Parish
(2 delegates)

Malachi Glaze

*Paul Jenys

St. Helena's Parish
(4 delegates)

Thomas Cooper (4) / Samuel Prioleau (4)

James Ferguson (5) / Hugh Bryan (5)

James Graeme (6) / Isaac Wright (6)

Job Rothmaler (7) / William Trewin (7)

St. James, Goose Creek Parish
(4 delegates)

William Dry

James Moore

John Ouldfield

Peter Taylor

St. James, Santee Parish
(2 delegates)

William Drake

Edward Thomas

St. John's, Berkeley Parish
(3 delegates)

Nathaniel Broughton

Thomas Cordes

William Waties (2)

St. Paul's Parish
(4 delegates)

Richard Bedon

John Gibbes

Alexander Hext

Samuel Jones

St. Philip's Parish
(5 delegates)

Othniel Beale

Robert Brewton

Benjamin D'Harriette

Gabriel Manigault (8) / John Dart (8)

Charles Pinckney

St. Thomas's & St. Dennis's Parish
(3 delegates)

Thomas Ashby

John Daniel

Peter Paget
* Paul Jenys was elected as Speaker of the House. Isaac Amyand was elected as Clerk of the House. John Bonnin was elected as Messenger of the House.
(1) Richard Smith died on February 1, 1733. William Swinton was elected to replace Richard Smith, and he qualified on 5/29/1735.
(2) William Waties was elected to represent both Prince George, Winyah Parish and St. John's, Berkeley Parish. He chose to represent St. John's Berkeley Parish. Andrew Broughton was elected to replace William Waties in Prince George, Winyah Parish, and he qualified on 1/17/1734.
(3) John Bee, Jr. declined to serve. Roger Saunders was elected to replace John Bee, Jr., and he qualified on 1/11/1734.
(4) Thomas Cooper died between May 31, 1734 and January 22, 1735. Samuel Prioleau was elected to replace Thomas Cooper, and he qualified on 3/4/1735.
(5) James Ferguson was expelled from the House. Hugh Bryan was elected to replace James Ferguson, and he qualified on 3/7/1735.
(6) James Graeme was expelled from the House on December 7, 1733 for bringing a suit against the Speaker of the House. He was re-elected but was denied his seat on January 10, 1734 due to his previous actions. He was once again re-elected, but was denied his seat on January 22, 1735 because he was rendered incapable of serving. Isaac Wright was elected to replace James Graeme, and he qualified on 9/6/1735.
(7) Job Rothmaler declined to serve. William Trewin was elected to replace Job Rothmaler, but he was denied his seat on January 11, 1734 because the return from St. Helena's Parish did not contain his Christian name and thus it could not be determined whether it was the intent of the voters to return him. He was re-elected and qualified on 4/4/1734.
(8) Gabriel Manigault was appointed as Public Treasurer for South Carolina on March 29, 1735. John Dart was elected to replace Gabriel Manigault, and he qualified on 4/15/1735.
<< 1733  

 1736 >>

© 2014 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved