The South Carolina General Assembly

In 1786, the South Carolina General Assembly created Greenville County out of what had earlier been considered as Indian Territory. In 1789, they created Pendleton County as well from Indian Territory. Subsequently, these counties were deemed the same as "election districts" and their population was instructed to provide delegates to the legislature starting with the eighth (8th) General Assembly of January 5, 1789.

Note Bene - during the 1780s and 1790s, South Carolina created many new "counties." Not all were given "election district" status, and by 1800, the term "county" was no longer in use within the state of South Carolina. What most other states would call as counties, South Carolina called "districts" - essentially combining a "judicial district" with an "election district."

<< Map #3

 Map #5 >>

© 2018 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved