South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Amend an Act Entitled "An Act to Create a Separate School District from Portions of Aiken and Orangeburg Counties, Including the Town of Salley, in Aiken County."

December 22, 1892

Acts and Joint Resolutions of the General Assembly of South Carolina 1892, Pages 166-167.
Click Here to view the original Act of December 22, 1891.

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of South Carolina, now met and sitting in General Assembly, and by the authority of the same, That an Act entitled "An Act to create a separate school district from portions of Aiken and Orangeburg Counties, including the town of Salley, in Aiken County," be, and the same is hereby, amended so as to exclude from the said school district therein mentioned that portion lying East of a certain road running from Oakly Springs by way of Benjamin Corbett's Mill and Sawyer old store to William Jones', on Ninety-Six Road, boundaries defining the school district therein mentioned, the portion of Orangeburg County therein included, and to confine said school district exclusively to the portion of the County of Aiken therein described.

Sec. 2. That wherever in said Act herein amended are mentioned the words "Orangeburg County," the same be amended by striking out said words "East of said line," as above mentioned.

Sec. 3. That all sums of money now in the hands of the County Treasurer of Aiken County to the credit of the fund of the said school district, and collected out of said portion of Orangeburg County, be turned over to the Treasurer of the County of Orangeburg, to be appropriated to the general school purposes of the said County of Orangeburg.

Sec. 4. That all Acts or parts of Acts inconsistent with this Act be, and the same are hereby, repealed.

Sec. 5. That this Act shall take effect immediately upon its approval.

Approved: December 22nd, A.D. 1892.

Benjamin R. Tillman, Governor.
Eugene B. Gary, Lt. Governor and President of the Senate.
Ira B. Jones, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved