South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Amend Section 1002 of the General Statutes of the State, Relating to the Apportionment of the Free Public School Fund.

December 20, 1892

Acts and Joint Resolutions of the General Assembly of South Carolina 1892, Pages 107-108.

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of South Carolina, now met and sitting in General Assembly, and by the authority of the same, That Section 1002 of the General Statutes of the State, relating to the apportionment of the free public school fund, be, and the same is hereby, amended by striking the word "average" after the words "in proportion to the" in the third line of said Section, so as to make said Section conform to the provisions of the Constitution of the State. So that said Section, when amended, shall read as follows:

"Section 1002. He shall annually, on the first day of February, or as soon as practicable thereafter, apportion the income of the County school fund among the several school districts during the preceding school year of his County in proportion to the number of pupils attending the free public schools in each district, and he shall certify such apportionment to the County Treasurer. He shall, at the same time, when deemed advisable by the County Board of Examiners, apportion from the income of the two mill tax on property a sum not exceeding two hundred dollars to defray the expenses of Teachers' Institutes conducted under regulations prescribed by the State Superintendent of Education, which sum shall be drawn on his warrant upon the County Treasurer, approved by the other two members of the County Board of Examiners. He shall take duplicate vouchers for such expenditures and file the same, with an itemized statement, with the State Superintendent of Education."

Sec. 2. That all Acts and parts of Acts inconsistent with this Act be, and the same are hereby, repealed.

Sec. 3. That the provisions of this Act shall not apply to the Counties of Abbeville, Charleston, Beaufort, Berkeley, Sumter, Richland, Aiken, Barnwell, Georgetown, Colleton, Hampton, Williamsburg and Clarendon.

Approved: December 20th, A.D. 1892.

Benjamin R. Tillman, Governor.
Eugene B. Gary, Lt. Governor and President of the Senate.
Ira B. Jones, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved