South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate the Burroughs School, of Conway, Horry County, South Carolina, and to Prohibit the Sale of Intoxicating Liquors Within One Mile Thereof.

December 23, 1889

Acts and Joint Resolutions of the General Assembly of South Carolina 1889, Pages 539-540.

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of South Carolina, now met and sitting in General Assembly, and by the authority of the same, That F. G. Burroughs, B. G. Collins, E. Norton, J. A. Mayo and C. P. Quattlebaum, and their associates and successors, be, and they are hereby, created a body corporate, by the name and style of the Trustees of Burroughs School, a seminary of learning, situated at Conway, Horry County, South Carolina; and that said corporation, by the name aforesaid, shall have power to sue, and be liable to be sued, in any of the Courts of this State, to use a common seal, aud to make all such by-laws, rules and regulations as it may deem necessary and proper for the establishment, organization and government of such seminary of learning and the transaction of the business of such corporation: Provided, however. Such by-laws, rules and regulations be not inconsistent with or repugnant to the laws of the land.

Sec. 2. That the said corporation shall have power to purchase, acquire, hold, to sell and convey, property, real and personal; and also shall have power and authority to confer the degrees of Bachelor of Elements and Master of Elements.

Sec. 3. That the sale or barter of spirituous liquors, wine, beer, or other intoxicating drink or beverage of any kind, in any quantity whatever, be, and the same is hereby, expressly prohibited within a radius of one mile from said school; that no license, from any authority whatever, shall warrant such sale; and whosoever shall be found guilty of a violation of this Act shall be punished the same as if convicted of retailing liquors without a license in this State.

Sec. 4. This Act shall be deemed a Public Act, and shall continue in force until repealed.

Approved December 23d, A.D. 1889.

John P. Richardson, Governor.
William L. Mauldin, President of the Senate and Lt. Governor.
James Simons, Jr., Speaker of the House of Representatives.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved