South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Establish a Special School District in York County, to be Known as the Fort Mill School District, and to Authorize the Levy and Collection of a Local Tax Therein.

December 23, 1889

Acts and Joint Resolutions of the General Assembly of South Carolina 1889, Pages 614-615.

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of South Carolina, now met and sitting in General Assembly, and by the authority of the same, That the area or territory in York County embraced within the following boundary, to wit : Beginning on the Catawba River at the mouth of Back Branch, near Spratt Island, thence up said branch to its junction with Silas Felt's Spring Branch, thence up said Silas Felt's Spring Branch to its source, thence to Philadelphia School House on Tuckasege Ford Road, thence up said road to Griffin's Store, thence with road by W. R. Warren's to Hagler's Branch, thence down said branch to Steele Creek, thence down Steele Creek to Sugar Creek, thence down said creek to Barbour's Bridge, thence Southwest of Pleasant Valley (col'd) Church to Patton's Ferry Road at J. P. Crowder's, thence with Patton's Ferry Road to H. W. Hoffman's, thence with road to junction with Nation Ford Road at S. M. Dinkins' residence, thence with Ferry Road to Catawba River at Dinkins' Ferry, thence up said river to the starting point, be, and the same is hereby, created a special school district, to be known as the Fort Mill School District, and shall be a body politic and corporate, with such rights, powers, privileges and liabilities as are provided in school districts by the laws of the State of South Carolina.

Sec. 2. That S. E. White, J. H. Thornwell, J. B. Mack, J. M. Spratt, T. G. Culp, J. E. Massey, A. A. Bradford, M. M. Manney and J. W. Ardry, and their successors in office, be, and they are hereby, constituted and appointed a Board of Trustees for said school district, and they shall each hold said office of Trustee for life, or during good behavior, if they shall so long reside in said school district. And the said Board of Trustees shall alone have power to fill vacancies caused therein by death, removal, resignation or otherwise: Provided, That no person shall be eligible to the office of Trustee who is not a patron of the said school, or who has not contributed the sum of ten dollars towards the erecting of the school building of said district: Provided, further, That the right to use the Fort Mill Academy building, situated in said school district, be vested in said Board of Trustees and their successors for the use of said school district.

Sec. 3. That the said school district and the Trustees thereof shall be entitled to all the rights, powers and privileges and be subject to all the restrictions and liabilities that are contained and enumerated in an Act entitled "An Act for the establishment of a new school district in the County of York, to be known as the Rock Hill School District, and to authorize the levy and collection of a local tax therein," approved December 19th, 1887, except in so far as the provisions of said Act may be inconsistent with the provisions of this Act.

Sec. 4. That this Act shall go into effect immediately after its approval, and all Acts and parts of Acts inconsistent with the provisions of this Act be, and the same are hereby, repealed.

Approved December 23d, A.D. 1889.

John P. Richardson, Governor.
William L. Mauldin, President of the Senate and Lt. Governor.
James Simons, Jr., Speaker of the House of Representatives.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved