South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Amend Section 2 of an Act Entitled "An Act to Provide for the Establishment of a New School District in Edgefield County and to Authorize the Levy and Collection of a Special Tax Therein," Approved December 24th, 1888.

December 23, 1889

Acts and Joint Resolutions of the General Assembly of South Carolina 1889, Pages 510-511.
Click Here to view the original Act of December 24, 1888.

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of South Carolina, now met and sitting in General Assembly, and by the authority of the same, That Section 2 of an Act entitled "An Act to provide for the establishment of a new school district in Edgefield County and to authorize the levy and collection of a special school tax therein," approved December 24th, 1888, be amended on lines three, four and fourteen by striking out the words "one and one-half mills" and insert in lieu thereof "three mills," and that Section when
amended shall read as follows:

"Sec. 2. That the voters of the said school district who return real or personal property for taxation are hereby authorized to levy and collect an annual tax not to exceed three mills, to supplement the Constitutional two mill tax, and for said purposes the Trustees of said school district, upon the written request of five taxpayers of said school district, at any time before the first Monday in January in each year, the call for which meeting shall be advertised in some newspaper published in said County once a week for two weeks, and published by posting the same in three conspicuous places in said school district before said meeting. When assembled the meeting of taxpayers shall have power to elect a Chairman and Secretary, adjourn from time to time, and levy a special tax for the ensuing year, not exceeding three mills, for such school purposes, as a majority of those present shall determine, and no tax so voted shall be repealed at any subsequent meeting."

Approved December 23d, A.D. 1889.

John P. Richardson, Governor.
William L. Mauldin, President of the Senate and Lt. Governor.
James Simons, Jr., Speaker of the House of Representatives.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved