South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act for the Establishment of a New School District in the County of Edgefield, to be Known as the Butler School District.

December 24, 1888

Acts and Joint Resolutions of the General Assembly of South Carolina 1888, Pages 160-162.

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of South Carolina, now met and sitting in General Assembly, and by the authority of the same, That the area embraced in the following lines be, and the same is hereby, created a new school district to be known as the Butler School District, to wit: within lines running northwest and southeast four miles along Little Saluda River, and the one running N. E. and S. W. 5 miles, so that it will be two miles from centre running S. E., and two miles running N. W., and two and one-half miles running N. E., and two and one-half miles S. W. from centre.

Sec. 2. That the said district shall be a body politic and corporate with such government, rights, privileges, and liabilities as are provided for school districts by the school law of South Carolina, approved March 22nd, 1878.

Sec. 3. That in addition to the rights and privileges hereinbefore granted the said school district shall have power, at any time previous to the 1st day of January of each year, upon the written request of a majority of the resident freeholders of the age of twenty-one years and over issue a call for a public meeting (after two weeks, notice) of all those citizens who return real or personal property in said district, and such notice posted in three public places in said district for at least two weeks before such meeting, and shall specify the time and place and object of said meeting.

Sec. 4. That when the persons answering the above description shall have assembled in public meeting, they shall have power, first, to select a chairman and secretary and adjourn from time to time; second, that they shall also select a board of five trustees for said school district, resident within the limits of said school district, whose term of office shall be for two years from the date of election, and who, in addition to the duties and responsibilities now provided by law for trustees of school districts, shall have the following powers and duties: 1st. To purchase or erect suitable buildings for the use of the public schools of said school district. 2d. To elect and dismiss superintendents and teachers of said school district, prescribe their duties, terms of office, and fix their salaries, and to cause an examination of said teachers to be made whenever necessary. Also to determine the class-books and studies to be used in said schools, and to make rules and regulations for the government of said schools. 3d. To determine the manner in which the two mills and constitutional poll tax provided by law shall be expended in maintaining said public schools. 4th. To fill all vacancies occurring in said Board of Trustees by death, resignation, removal, or otherwise, during the term of office or service.

Sec. 5. That the money collected from the constitutional poll and two mills tax to which the said district is entitled under the general provisions of the law, shall be held by the County Treasurer and paid out on warrants drawn by the trustees of said school district: Provided, That the School Commissioner of said County and the trustees of said school district be, and they are hereby, authorized to apply, for the fiscal year commencing November 1st, 1888, so much of said money as may be necessary for the purchase and erection of suitable buildings for said public schools.

Sec. 6. That the School Trustees now in charge of School District number 14 and 15 of Edgefield County are hereby authorized and required to act until the election of the trustees provided for in this Act.

Sec. 7. That this Act shall take effect from the date of its passage, and all Acts or parts of Acts inconsistent with this Act be, and the same are hereby, repealed.

Approved December 24th, A.D. 1888.

John P. Richardson, Governor.
William L. Mauldin, President of the Senate and Lt. Governor.
James Simons, Jr., Speaker of the House of Representatives.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved