South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Establish Two School Districts in Chester County and to Authorize the Levy and Collection of a Local Tax Therein.

December 24, 1886

Acts and Joint Resolutions of the General Assembly of South Carolina 1886, Pages 678-680.
Click Here to view the original Act of December 23, 1884.

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of South Carolina, now met and sitting in General Assembly, and by the authority of the same, That a school district within the limits of Baton Rouge Township, in Chester County, to be known as Wiikesburg, is hereby established, the boundary line whereof shall begin at the mouth of Little Turkey Creek and run up said creek 25 chains; thence S. 45 E. 347 chains; thence N. 45 E. 335 chains; thence North 220 chains; thence N. 45 W. 210 chains to Susy Bowl Creek; thence down said creek to Turkey Creek, down Turkey Creek to Broad River, and down Broad River to the mouth of Little Turkey Creek, the beginning corner; that, also, a new school district within the limits of Chester Township, in Chester County, to be known as Lowrysville, is hereby established, the boundary lines whereof shall be: beginning at a point on the Chester and Lenoir Narrow Gauge Railroad at the place known as the County line, running West with the County line to a point on the Quinn Road; thence South with said road to a point midway between the six and seventh mile post; thence East to the crossing of the York Road at Sandy River; thence one and a half miles down said river; thence East to a point on the Chester and Lenoir Narrow Gauge Railroad, five and a half miles above Chester Court House; thence East to the six mile post on the Bratton Road; thence Northeast to a point on the County line on the Southern part of J. L. Guy's land; thence with said County line to the beginning.

Sec. 2. The inhabitants of said two school districts are hereby created bodies politic and corporate, and authorized to levy on all real and personal property in said two districts a local tax not exceeding two mills on the dollar, to supplement the Constitutional tax for the support of free schools, by the persons and in the mode following, to wit: The School Trustees of each of said two school districts shall on or before the 15th day of March next, and again on or before the 1st day of November, 1887, and on and before the last named day in each succeeding year, call meetings of all the legal voters living in each of said separate school districts returning real or personal property therein; that a notice of each of said meetings, specifying the times, places and objects thereof, shall be published in one or more newspapers of the County, and posted on the doors of the Wilkesburg and Lowrysville Academies at least twenty days before the said meetings. The persons answering the above designation shall appoint in each of said school districts a Chairman and Secretary, adjourn from time to time, decide what additional tax, if any, shall be levied, and appropriate the same in such manner as they may think best for maintaining such schools. No tax thus levied shall be repealed at any subsequent meeting held within the same fiscal year. The Chairman of each of said meetings shall, within ten days thereafter, notify the Chairman of the Board of Trustees in each of their respective school districts and the County Auditor of the amount of tax thus levied, and how in each instance it has been appropriated, and the County Auditor shall at once assess such tax on all real and personal property returned in each of said school districts, and the County Treasurer shall collect the same with the State and County taxes, and, if unpaid, such tax shall be a lien on all property for two years, and defaulting taxpayers shall be liable to like pains and penalties as defaulters for State and County taxes. The money collected from said tax levy in said two school districts shall be paid out by the County Treasurer for the purposes to which it has been appropriated on warrants drawn by the Trustees of said school districts, countersigned by the County School Commissioner, and said Treasurer shall be liable to said school districts for non-performance of his duty as in respect to State and County taxes. The first assessment under this Act shall be for the scholastic year beginning on the 1st of November, 1886.

Sec. 3. This Act shall take effect from its approval, and all Acts inconsistent therewith, and so much of the Act of 23rd December, 1884, as makes Wilkesburg a township, are hereby repealed.

In the Senate House, the twenty-fourth day of December, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-six.

William L. Mauldin, President of the Senate.
James Simons, Jr., Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Approved: December 24th, A.D. 1886.
John P. Richardson, Governor.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved