South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Establish a Separate School District in the County of Colleton, to be Known as the School District of the Town of Georges, and Authorize Said Township to Levy and Collect a Special Tax.

December 26, 1885

Acts and Joint Resolutions of the General Assembly of South Carolina 1885, Pages 360-361.

SECTION 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of South Carolina now met and sitting in General Assembly and by the authority of the same, That the Town of Georges, including a radius of two and one-half miles in each direction from the intersection of Main and Society streets, in the County of Colleton, be, and is hereby, established as a separate School District of said County.

SEC. 2. That the voters of said School District who return real and personal property for taxation are authorized to levy and collect an annual tax to supplement the constitutional two mill tax, and for said purpose the Trustees of said Township, upon the written request of ten taxpayers of the Township, shall call a public meeting of said taxpayers at any time before the first day of June of each year, which meeting must be advertised in a newspaper published in said County, once a week for two weeks; and when assembled said meeting shall have the power to elect a Chairman and Secretary, to adjourn from time to time, to levy said special tax not exceeding two mills, and to appropriate the same to such purposes as a majority present shall see fit; that no tax so levied shall be repealed at any subsequent meeting; that within ten days after said meeting the Chairman thereof shall furnish the Board of Trustees and the County Auditor with the amount so levied, and the Auditor shall enter the same on his tax duplicate, and the Treasurer shall collect the same as other County and State taxes, which in like manner shall be a lien on the property of the Township, which shall be subject thereto in case of default in payment; that said tax so collected shall be paid out by the Treasurer upon warrants drawn by the Board of Trustees, countersigned by the County Commissioners.

In the Senate House, the twenty-fourth day of December, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-five.

John C. Sheppard, President of the Senate.
James Simons, Jr., Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Approved: December 26th, A.D. 1885.
Hugh S. Thompson, Governor.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved