South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Amend First Section of an Act Entitled "An Act to Provide for the Establishment of Two New School Districts in the County of Fairfield, and for the Levy and Collection of a School Tax Therein," in So Far as the Same Relates to the School District Including the Town of Ridgeway in the County of Fairfield.

December 24, 1883

Acts and Joint Resolutions of the General Assembly of South Carolina 1883, Pages 603-604.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of South Carolina, now met and sitting in General Assembly, and by the authority of the same, That the County Board of Examiners of the County of Fairfield be, and they are hereby, authorized to lay off two separate school districts in the said County; one thereof to be embraced within the following boundary lines, to wit: A line beginning on the East bank of Little River on the line dividing the Counties of Fairfield and Richland, and running along the said line Eastward four and one-half miles; thence Northward at a right angle with said line a distance of five miles; thence Westward at a right angle with said line a distance of four and one-half miles; thence Southward at a right angle with the last line to the East bank of Little River; thence along said right bank to the place of starting. The second school district to be embraced within the following described area: Taking the depot of the Charlotte, Columbia and Augusta Railroad in the town of Ridgeway, in the said County, as a point of departure, let four lines be run toward the cardinal points of the compass, each of said lines to the distance of one mile; then let lines be drawn at right angles to the four lines above given, touching the extremity of each, and extend until they cut each other, thereby forming a square, and the area thus enclosed shall constitute the second school district.

In the Senate House, the twenty-fourth day of December, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-three.

John C. Sheppard, President of the Senate.
James Simons, Jr., Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Approved: December 24th, A.D. 1883.
Hugh S. Thompson, Governor.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved