South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Provide for the Establishment of Two New School Districts in the County of Fairfield, and to Authorize the Levy and Collection of a School Tax Therein.

December 22, 1882

Acts and Joint Resolutions of the General Assembly of South Carolina 1882, Pages 141-142.

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of South Carolina, now met and sitting in General Assembly, and by the authority of the same, That the County Board of Examiners of the County of Fairfield be, and they are hereby, authorized to lay off two separate School Districts in the said County, one thereof to be embraced within the following boundary lines, to wit: a line beginning on the East bank of Little River on the line dividing the Counties of Fairfield and Richland, and running along the said line Eastward four and one-half miles, thence Northward at a right angle with said line a distance of five miles, thence Westward at a right angle with said last line a distance of four and one-half miles, thence Southward at a right angle with the last line to the East bank of Little River, thence along said right bank to the place of starting. The second School District to be embraced within the following described area: Taking the depot of the Charlotte, Columbia and Augusta Railroad in the town of Ridgeway in the said County as a point of departure, let four lines be run toward the cardinal points of the compass, each of said lines to the distance of three miles; then let lines be drawn at right angles to the four lines above given, touching the extremity of each, and extend until they cut each other, thereby forming a square, and the area thus enclosed shall constitute the second School District.

Sec. 2. The said Districts shall have such names, respectively, as the County Board of Examiners may select, and shall have and possess all the rights, powers, privileges and liabilities prescribed in an Act entitled "An Act to provide for the establishment of a new School District in the County of Fairfield and to authorize the levy and collection of a special school tax therein," approved 23d December, 1878, and shall be subject to all the provisions of said Act so far as they may be applicable hereto, except that each of said School Districts shall have the power to assess and collect a special tax not exceeding two (2) mills upon the dollar of taxable property, instead of one and one-half mills as provided in said Act.

Sec. 3. The County Auditor of the County of Fairfield is authorized to take such steps as he may deem essential to fix and determine the amount of taxable property within each of said districts herein provided, and such necessary expenses as he may incur in so doing shall be paid from the respective school funds of the said districts.

Sec. 4. The first assessment, if so directed by the said School Districts, or either of them, shall be made for the scholastic year beginning November 1st, 1882, and for his services in making and entering such assessment the County Auditor shall be entitled to extra compensation to the amount of twenty-five dollars for each district, to be paid out of the school fund of the said districts.

Sec. 5. This Act shall take effect from its passage.

In the Senate House, the twenty-second day of December, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-two.

John C. Sheppard, President of the Senate.
James Simons, Jr., Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Approved: December 22d, A.D. 1882.
Hugh S. Thompson, Governor.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved