South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate the Darlington Academical Society.

February 26, 1873

Acts and Joint Resolutions of the General Assembly of South Carolina 1871-72, Pages 389-390.

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of South Carolina, now met and sitting in General Assembly, and by the authority of the same, That B. F. Whittemore, T. C. Cox, S. J. Keith, Isaac Brockenton, Jackson A. Smith, Clayton Cannon, James M. Brown and E. C. Baker, and their successors in office, shall be, and they are hereby, constituted and made a body politic and corporate, by the name and style of the "Darlington Academical Society," with the power to sue and be sued, to plead and be impleaded, to possess and hold, subject to former grants, property, within the County of Darlington, to an amount not exceeding twenty thousand dollars.

Sec. 2. That all property heretofore vested in the Trustees of the Darlington Academy, conveyed by John Gibson, of the County of Darlington, July 9, 1818, to Moses Saunders, Rasha Cannon, John Pearce, Bright Williamson, Dr. Y. Bishop and James Irvin, and by them conveyed to the said Trustees for the sole purpose, use, benefit and advantage of the said Academy established at Darlington C. H., shall be, and the same is hereby, vested in the incorporators named in this Act, and such incorporators shall be deemed and held in law to be the proper and legal successors of such former trustees.

Sec. 3. That it shall be the duty of the incorporators named in the first Scction of this Act, and they are hereby, authorized to take possession of all that property specified in the second Section of this Act, which, by the conveyance of John Gibson, was granted for the purposes set forth, viz: for the use, benefit and advantage of the said Academy, consisting of three and five-tenths acres of land, and the half of a street, fifteen feet wide, from Swift Creek to Copeland Pearce's, all at Darlington C. H.

Sec. 4. This Act to take effect on and after its passage, and to remain in force until repealed.

R. Howell Gleaves, President of the Senate.
Samuel J. Lee, Speaker of the House of Representatives.
Franklin J. Moses, Jr., Governor.

Approved: February 26, 1873

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved