South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate Certain Religious and Charitable Societies, and to Renew and Amend the Charters of Others Heretofore Granted.

February 6, 1863

The Statutes at Large of South Carolina, Volume XIII, Pages 104-106.

I - Chesnut Ridge Baptist Church of Laurens District incorporated for 21 years.

II - Orangeburg Baptist Church in Orangeburg incorporated for 21 years.

III - Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church of Little Generostee in Anderson District renewed for 21 years.

IV - Moriah Baptist Association in Lancaster District incorporated for 21 years.

V. That J. J. Bonner, H. T. Sloan, J. N. Young, E. L. Patton, J. Boyce, J. L. Miller, H. W. Pressly, H. L. Murphy, T. B. Chalniers, J. P. Kennedy, P. H. Bradley, R. C. Sharp, and their successors in office, be, and they are hereby declared, a body politic and corporate, by the name and style of the "Erskine Theological Seminary," with all the rights, powers and privileges incident to bodies politic and corporate; to hold real and personal property, not exceeding two hundred thousand dollars; to elect their officers, and to fill all vacancies in their own body; to take control and manage the funds of the said institution, and to discharge all the duties pertaining to the same; and that the said "Erskine Theological Seminary," with its Professors, its property, its Board of Trustees, and all its interests, be, and the same are hereby, placed under the management of the Associate Reformed Synod of the South.

VI - Associate Reformed Church of Yorkville incorporated.

VII, VIII, IX, X, XI, and XII - Rosemonte Cemetery Association of Newberry District incorporated.

XIII - Right Worthy Southern Grand Lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows of the State of South Carolina incorporated.

In the Senate House, the sixth day of February, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and sixty-three, and in the eighty-seventh year of the sovereignty and independence of the State of South Carolina.

W. D. PORTER, President of the Senate.
A. P. ALDRICH, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved