South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate Certain Religious and Charitable Societies, and Societies for the Advancement of Education, and to Renew the Charters of Others Heretofore Granted.

December 19, 1855

The Statutes at Large of South Carolina, Volume XII, Pages 357-360.

I & II - Religious societies and societies for the advancement of education incorporated:

- Mount Carmel Baptist Church;
- St. Stephen's Baptist Church;
- St. James' Baptist Church;
- The Santee Baptist Church;
- The Edgefield Village Baptist Church;
- Convent Baptist Church in Lexington District;
- The Church of the Good Shepherd in Yorkville;
- The Church of the Messiah, North Santee;
- The Vestry and Church Wardens of St. Jude's Church in Walterborough;
- The Presbyterian and Baptist Churches at New Harmony in Laurens District, South Carolina;
- St. Stephen's Baptist Church;
- The Howard Association of Charleston;
- Unity Church in York District;
- Warrior's Creek Baptist Church;
- The Trustees of Willington Church in Abbeville District;
- The Williamston Male Academy; and
- The Springville Academy in Darlington.

III, IV, V, VI, and VII - Church of the Ascension of St. Bartholomew's Parish incorporated.

VIII & IX - Protestant Episcopal Church of Summerville rechartered as St. Paul's Church in Summerville.

X, XI, and XII - Seamen's Chapel at Charleston incorporated.

XIII - Charters renewed:

- Second Presbyterian Church of the city and suburbs of Charleston;
- German Evangelical Lutheran Church of Charleston;
- Zion Church of the town of Winnsborough;
- Christ's Church, Wiltown Bluff, St. Paul's Parish;
- German Fusilier Society;
- The Charleston Port Society for the promotion of the Gospel among Seamen;
- Society for the Relief of Elderly and Disabled Minister and of the Widows and Orphans of the Independent or Congregational Church of Charleston.

XIV. That this Act is hereby declared to be a Public Act.

In the Senate House, the nineteenth day of December, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and fifty-five, and in the eightieth year of the sovereignty and independence of the United States of America.

ROBT. F. W. ALLSTON, President of the Senate.
JAMES SIMONS, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved