South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate Certain Societies and Companies, and to Renew and Amend Certain Charters Heretofore Granted.

December 16, 1851

The Statutes at Large of South Carolina, Volume XII, Pages 103-108.

I & II - Religious societies and associations incorporated:

- The Irish Mutual Benevolent Society of Charleston;
- Egeria Lodge, No. 71, Ancient Free Masons;
- Georgetown Ice House Company;
- Trustees of Pageville Academy;
- Bluffton Wharf Company;
- Presbyterian Church of Williamsburg;
- Four Holes Baptist Church in Orangeburg District;
- Moriah Baptist Church in Sumter District;
- The Vestry and Wardens of the Church of the Holy Apostles at Barnwell;
- Walnut Grove Baptist Church in Abbeville District;
- Bethlehem Church in the town of Anderson;
- Trinity Church in Edgefield;
- Magnolia Lodge, No. 21, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, at Marion Court House;
- Mountain Lodge, No. 15, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in Greenville District;
- The Pendleton Hotel Company;
- The Palmetto Guard;
- The Little River Baptist Church of Abbeville District, and
- The Hospital for Colored People in Charleston.

III, IV, & V - Village of Frog Level in Newberry District incorporated.

VI & VII - Town of Newberry incorporated.

VIII - Town of Barnwell charter amended.

IX - Town of Mount Pleasant limits extended.

X - Religious and Military entities charters renewed:

- The Roman Catholic Cathedral of St. Finbars;
- The Trustees of the Roman Catholic Church of South Carolina;
- The Roman Catholic Church of St. Mary's, Charleston;
- Presbyterian Church in Sumterville'
- Charleston Light Dragoons.

XI - The Fire Company of Charleston Neck changed its name to the Eagle Fire Engine Company of Charleston, South Carolina; town of Clinton changed its name back to Blackville.

XII - The Theological Seminary of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of South Carolina changed its name to the Classical and Theological Seminary of the Evangelical Lutheran Synod of South Carolina and adjacent States.

XIII - Religious associations incorporated:

- The Euhaw Baptist Church in St. Luke's Parish,
- St. Peter's Lutheran Church near Leesville in Lexington District.

XIV. That Dr. Jno. S. Reed, M. O. Tolman, T. Foster Marshall, James Taggart, William H. Parker, M. O. McCaslan, James McCaslan, Thomas Thomson, Robert Brady, Charles T. Haskell, Thomas Dowton, H. Derricoat, D. M. Rogers, W. K. Bradley, W. H. Parker, J. E. Foster, Stephen Lee and B. McKittrick, and their successors, ofiicers and members, are hereby declared a body politic and corporate, for educational purposes, under the style and title of the "Abbeville Clear Spring Association," with all the rights and privileges as are provided for in the second Section of this Act.

XV. That the charter of the Greenville Male and Female Academies be, and the same is hereby, renewed and extended for the term of fourteen years, with the right to hold property to the amount of twenty-five thousand dollars. And that the last Trustees of the said Academies be, and the same are hereby, re-appointed with the right of filling vacancies in their body.

XVI & XVII - Newberry Steam Mills Company incorporated.

XVIII - Town of Laurensville charter extended one year.

XIX - Charleston Plank Road Company incorporated.

XX - Plank Roads Act amended.

XXI. That William D. Henry, Samuel McAliley, W. Hiram, C. Brawly, Richard E. Kennedy, and their associates, as stockholders in the Chesterville Female Academy Society, be, and the same are hereby, incorporated and declared a body politic by the name of the Chesterville Female Academy Society, and that said society have a right to hold real and personal property to the amount of ten thousand dollars, and that said society be entitled to all the rights and privileges in the second Section of this Act.

In the Senate House, the sixteenth day of December, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and fifty-one, and in the seventy-sixth year of the sovereignty and independence of the United States of America.

ROBT. F. W. ALLSTON, President of the Senate.
JAMES SIMONS, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved