South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate the Furman University.

December 20, 1850

The Statutes at Large of South Carolina, Volume XII, Pages 34-35.

I. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives, now met and sitting in General Assembly, and by the authority of the same. That Wm. B. Johnson, J. R. Kendrick, J. C. Furman, J. O. B. Dargan, J. S. Miras, T. P. Lide, J. Belton O'Neall, A. J. Lawton, J. A. Lawton, S. Furman, M. T. Mendenhall, Z. Watkins, A. Rice, J. Culpepper, R. Furman, T. Curtis, H. D. Duncan, T. Hopkins, W. P. Hill, H. A. Duncan, Isaac Nichols, T. Adams, J. L. Brooks, R. G. Edwards, W. Brooker, and such other persons as shall be elected Trustees by the State Convention of the Baptist denomination in South Carolina, are hereby constituted a body politic and corporate, in deed and in law, by the name of The Furman University; and that by the said name they and their successors shall and may have perpetual succession, and be able and capable in law to have, receive and enjoy to them, and their successors, real and personal property, not exceeding three hundred thousand dollars. The location of the said University shall be at or near Greenville Court House, in the District of Greenville.

II. That the said Trustees shall continue in office for the term of four years from the passing or this Act, and at the expiration or the said four years, and every four years thereafter, the said State Convention of the Baptist denomination in South Carolina shall elect their successors, the number thereof to be increased or diminished as the said Convention may deem proper. And the Trustees aforesaid shall be capable of doing or transacting all the business and concerns of the said University, but more particularly of electing all the customary and necessary officers of the said institution, of fixing their several salaries, of removing any of them for neglect, misconduct or other cause, of prescribing the course of study to be pursued by the students, and in general of framing and enacting all such ordinances and by-laws not repugnant to the laws of this State as shall appear to them necessary for the good government of the said University.

III. That the Trustees of the said University shall and may have a common seal, with liberty to change or alter the same, from time to time, as they shall think proper; and that by their aforesaid name, they and their successors shall and may be able to implead and be impleaded, answer and be answered unto, defend and be defended, in all Courts within this State, and to grant, bargain, sell or assign any lands, tenements, hereditaments, goods or chattels; and to act and do all things whatsoever for the benefit of the said University in as ample a manner as any person or body politic or corporate can or may by law.

IV. That the said University may grant to students under its charge diplomas or honorary testimonials, in such form as it may designate. It may also confer such literary honors, degrees and diplomas as are usually granted by any University, College or Seminary of learning in the United States.

V. That the State Convention of the Baptist denomination in South Carolina is hereby authorized to make such arrangements with the said University for the transfer of the funds and property of the said Convention, or any part thereof, either absolutely or conditionally, to the said University, as the said Convention shall deem proper.

VI. That this Act shall be deemed a public Act, and continue of force for the term of fourteen years, and from thence until the adjournment of the next session of the Legislature.

In the Senate House, the twentieth day of December, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and fifty, and in the seventy-fifth year of the sovereignty and independence of the United States of America.

ROBT. F. W. ALLSTON, President of the Senate.
JAMES SIMONS, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved