South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate Certain Societies and Companies, and to Renew and Amend Certain Charters Heretofore Granted.

December 17, 1847

The Statutes at Large of South Carolina, Volume XI, Pages 458-461.

I & II - Societies and Associations incorporated for fourteen (14) years:

- The Cumberland Church Benevolent Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church in the city of Charleston;
- The Wesleyan Benevolent Society in the city of Charleston;
- The Glebe Street Presbyterian Church of Charleston;
- The Healing Springs School Association in Barnwell District;
- The South Carolina Masonic Benevolent Society in the city of Charleston;
- The Mechanics' Association of Columbia; and
- The Palmetto Division, No. 1, of the Sons of Temperance.

III - Artilleurs Francais changed to Lafayette Artillery.

IV - Carpenters' Society of the city of Charleston incoporated for fourteen (14) years.

V - South Carolina Jockey Club incorporated for fourteen (14) years.

VI - Town Council of Edgefield authorized to grant licenses.

VII - Lancaster Regimental Band of the Hanging Rock Band in Lancaster District incorporated.

VIII - Town Council of Camden authorized to collect taxes.

IX - Axe, Ladder and Hook Company of Columbia incorporated.

X - Village of Pickens incorporated.

XI. That hereafter seven members of the Winyaw Indigo Society, shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of the business of said Society.

XII & XXIII - Societies and Associations incorporated for fourteen (14) years:

- Southern Baptist Publication Society in Charleston,
- Willington Church in Abbeville District,
- Charleston Division, No. 6, Sons of Temperance,
- Harmony Lodge, No. 61, Ancient Free Masons, in St. George, Dorchester in Colleton District,
- Female Missionary Society of Pipe Creek in St. Peter's Parish.

XXIV, XXV, XXVI - Village of Summerville incorporated for three (3) years.

In the Senate House, the seventeenth day of December, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and forty-seven, and in the seventy-second year of the Sovereignty and Independence of the United States of America.

R. F. W. ALLSTON, President of the Senate, pro tem.
W. F. COLCOCK, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved