South Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate Certain Societies.

December 18, 1830

The Statutes at Large of South Carolina - Volume VI, Page 416 - Points to:
The Statutes at Large of South Carolina - Volume VIII - Pages 369-370.

I. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives, That the following societies and associations be bodies corporate and politic, by the names to them respectively assigned.

1 - Grace Church of Camden.

2. The trustees of the Laurensville Male and Female Academy, by the name aforesaid.

3 - Antioch Baptist Church of Darlington.

4 - Poplar Springs Baptist Church of Laurens District.

5 - Cheraw Presbyterian Society.

6 - Methodist Benevolent Society of Charleston.

7 - Horticultural Society of Charleston.

8 - St. Stephen's Lutheran Church at Lexington Court House.

9 - Pleasant Hill Methodist Episcopal Church of Chesterfield District.

10 - Hebrew Benevolent Society of Charleston.

11. The Grahamville School Academy, by the name aforesaid.

12 - Buck Swamp Baptist Church in Marion District.

13 - Methodist Episcopal Society of Britton's Neck.

II. The said societies and associations, shall, by their respective names, have succession of officers and members, to be chosen according to their respective by-laws; and shall have power to make by-laws, not repugnant to the laws of the land; to have, keep, and use a common seal, and the same to alter at will; to sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, in any court of this State; and to have and enjoy every right incident to incorporation.

III. They shall also be empowered, severally, to retain, hold, possess, and enjoy, all such property, real and personal, as they may now be, respectively, possessed of, or in any wise entitled unto, or which shall hereafter be given, bequeathed to, or in any wise acquired by them; and to sell, alien, or in any way transfer the same, or any part thereof; provided, the amount so held shall in no case exceed five thousand dollars; except the Vestry and Wardens of Grace Church in the town of Camden, may hold property, real and personal, to the value of thirty thousand dollars.

IV - Societe Francaise re-incorporated.

V - Vigilant Fire Engine Company authorized 100 members.

VI - Roman Catholic Church of Saint Peter of Columbia.

VII - Town Council of Barnwell may sell licenses.

VIII - Only members of the Episcopal Church of the Parish of Saint Luke's may vote for Vestry or Wardens.

IX - Town Council of Camden to set patrol duty.

X. This shall be a public Act, and continue for fourteen years.

In the Senate House, the eighteenth day of December, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and thirty, and in the fifty-fifth year of the Independence of the United States of America.

H. DEAS, President of the Senate.
H. L. PINCKNEY, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

© 2016 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved