South Carolina Courts - A History

Until 1868, when the courts of law and equity merged, South Carolina's judicial system consisted essentially of three courts of law - the Court of Common Pleas, the Court of General Sessions, and the County and Intermediate Court. The Court of Equity and the Probate Court were also created for specific purposes.

Court of Common Pleas

Court of General Sessions

County & Intermediate Courts

Court of Equity


Probate Court

© 2007 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved