South Carolina During the 1900s - The General Assembly

Members of the 99th General Assembly - 1971 to 1972
This 99th General Assembly convened in two regular sessions: The first session was held from January 12th to July 2nd, then from September 14th to November 9th in 1971. The second session was held from January 11th to July 28th in 1972.

Election District

House of Representatives

Abbeville County

Charles Lewis Powell

Aiken County

Charles Marshall Cain

Council Julian Dunbar, Jr.

Zachariah Glenn Fulmer

John Henry Williams

Allendale County 

James Bowen Brandt

Anderson County

Luther Lewis Ashley

Patrick Bradley Harris

Dan Thompson Marrett

Fred Thurman Moore

Elbridge Juette Wright

Bamberg County

Robert Watson Kemp

Barnwell County

Solomon Blatt*

Beaufort County

William Brantley Harvey, Jr.

James H. Moss

Berkeley County

Thomas Aimar Knight

E. Jarvis Morris

Calhoun County 

Othniel Henry Wienges, Jr.

Charleston County

James Mathewes Condon

Clyde Moultrie Dangerfield

Herbert Ulysses Fielding

Arnold Samuel Goodstein

Thomas Forbes Hartnett

John Lafayette Henson

James Carlisle Joseph, Sr.

Frederick Julian LeaMond

Julian Sidi Limehouse, III

Joseph Patrick Riley, Jr.

Abney Alexander Smith (1) / Thomas Asbury Hutton (2)

Cherokee County

Loyd Hames Lovelace

Dolphus Cleve Medley

Chester County

John Porter Gaston

John Reid Justice

Chesterfield County

Hoover Fay Bell

Robert Alexander Raley

Clarendon County

Joseph Warren Coker

Colleton County

Gerald Clarence Smoak

Darlington County

Gary Evans Byrd, Jr.

Edward Jack Smith

Preston Ward

Dillon County 

William Bledsoe Hawkins

William James McLeod

Dorchester County

Joseph Carlisle McAlhany

Edgefield County

Butler Carson Derrick, Jr.

Fairfield County

Purvis Wesley Collins

Florence County

Charles Edward Godwin

David Walker Harwell

Thomas Earle Smith, Jr.

W. Odell Venters

Georgetown County

William Walter Doar, Jr.

Julian Alexander Reynolds

Greenville County

Carroll Ashmore Campbell, Jr.

Rex Lyle Carter

John Kern Earle

Carolyn Essig Frederick

John Stobo Garrett, Jr.

Herbert Curry Granger

Beattie Eugene Huff

Lloyd Edward Hunt

Larry Ronald Patterson

Charles Victor Pyle, Jr.

Nick Andrew Theodore

Greenwood County

Marion Pinckney Carnell

James Edward Moore

Hampton County

Wilson Tison

Horry County

Sidney Thomas Floyd

Charles Edward Hodges

John Wilson Jenrette, Jr.

Philip Dyches Sasser

Jasper County

Frank Eugene Baldwin, Jr.

Kershaw County

James Clator Arrants

William Richard Clyburn

Lancaster County

Caldwell Thomas Hinson

Tom Gibson Mangum

Laurens County

Eugene Creighton Stoddard

David Surratt Taylor

Lee County

William Green DesChamps, Jr.

Lexington County

Jarvis Randolph Klapman

Lucius Omerle Porth

Sherry Lynn Shealy

Marion County

Waddell Byrd

John Henry Waller, Jr.

Marlboro County

Edward Benjamin Cottingham

McCormick County

Julius H. Baggett

Newberry County

Walter Thomas Lake


Herbert Doyle Morgan

Lowell William Ross

Orangeburg County

Laurie Edward Bennett

Thomas Braxton Bryant, III

Fred Lawton Irick

Foster Hall Yarborough

Pickens County

Harold Delois Breazeale

Bennett Lee Hendricks, Jr.

Richland County

James L. Felder

Edmund Griffin Grant

Charles Lem Harper (3) / Robert Henry Burnside (5)

Troy L. Hyatt

I.S. Leevy Johnson

Robert Edward Kneece

Isadore E. Lourie

Thomas Travis Medlock

Alex Sanders (4) / Richard Lyles Sullivan (5)

Henry Grady Yonce

Saluda County

Rudolph Mitchell

Spartanburg County

Giles Patterson Cleveland

Harold Clement Davis

Jason Charlie Duncan

Thomas Walter Edwards, Jr.

Hugh Edsel Finch

George Dean Johnson, Jr.

Samuel Phillips Manning

John Cornelius Williams, Jr.

Sumter County

Robert James Aycock

James Cuttino, Jr.

Carlyle Whittier Goodman

Ramon Schwartz, Jr.

Union County

William Marshall Comer

Furman Lester Fendley

Williamsburg County

Frank Hilton McGill

James Victor Rowell

York County

Samuel Bruce Fewell, Jr.

Robert Lawrence McFadden

Samuel Brooks Mendenhall

George Beverly Petty, Jr.
* Solomon Blatt was elected as Speaker of the House. Inez Watson was elected as Clerk.

Election District

Senator (County From)

District No. 1
Abbeville County
Anderson County
Oconee County

Thomas Edmund Garrison, Jr. (Anderson)
Milford Edgar McDonald (Anderson)
Snead Schumacher (Oconee)

District No. 2
Pickens County

Harris Page Smith (Pickens)

District No. 3
Greenville County

Harry Aubrey Chapman, Jr. (Greenville)
Charles Gideon Garrett (Greenville)
Richard Wilson Riley (Greenville)
Thomas Albert Wofford (Greenville)

District No. 4
Spartanburg County

Paul Miller Moore (Spartanburg)
Horace Carroll Smith (Spartanburg)
James Barnett Stephen (Spartanburg)

District No. 5
Laurens County
Newberry County
Union County

John D. Long, III (Union)
Robert Campbell Lake, Jr. (Newberry)

District No. 6
Greenwood County
McCormick County

John Willie Drummond (Greenwood)

District No. 7
Aiken County
Edgefield County
Lexington County
Saluda County

Michael Lukens Laughlin (Aiken)
Gilbert Edward McMillen (Aiken)
Albert John Dooley (Lexington)

District No. 8
Cherokee County
York County

J.C. Bonner (Cherokee)
William Lewis Wallace (York)

District No. 9
Chester County
Fairfield County

John Alfred Martin (Fairfield)

District No. 10
Richland County

Walter James Bristow, Jr. (Richland)
William John Brockington (Richland)
Francis Capers Owens (Richland)
Hyman Rubin (Richland)

District No. 11
Calhoun County
Orangeburg County

Lawrence Marion Gressette (Calhoun)
Marshall Burns Williams (Orangeburg)

District No. 12
Allendale County
Bamberg County
Barnwell County

Edgar Allan Brown** (Bamberg)

District No. 13
Beauford County
Colleton County
Hampton County
Jasper County

James Pershing Harrelson (Colleton)
James Madison Waddell, Jr. (Beaufort)

District No. 14
Berkeley County
Charleston County

Allen Ruffin Carter (Charleston)
Rembert Coney Dennis (Berkeley)
Gordon Henderson Garrett (Charleston)
Joseph Kenneth Rentiers (Charleston)
Robert Bowman Scarborough (Charleston)

District No. 15
Georgetown County
Horry County

Cecil Claymon Grimes, Jr. (Georgetown)
James Price Stevens (Horry)

District No. 16
Florence County
Marion County
Williamsburg County

LaNue Floyd (Williamsburg)
John Ralph Gasque (Marion)
Eugene Noel Zeigler (Florence)

District No. 17
Clarendon County
Sumter County

James McCullum Morris (Clarendon)
Henry Burchill Richardson (Sumter)

District No. 18
Kershaw County
Lancaster County

Donald Harry Holland (Kershaw)
Frank Laney Roddey (Lancaster)

District No. 19
Darlington County

James Pierce Mozingo, III (Darlington)

District No. 20
Chesterfield County
Marlboro County

Charles Anthony Harris (Chesterfield)
John Charles Lindsay (Marlboro)
** Edgar Allen Brown was elected President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Lovick Oliphant Thomas was elected as Clerk.
(1) Elected as a Member of the SC Public Service Commission on January 27, 1971, and he resigned from the House on June 30, 1971.
(2) Elected to replace Abney Alexander Smith on 9/14/1971.
(3) Elected as a Member of the SC Employment Security Commission on January 20, 1971, and he resigned from the House on June 30, 1971.
(4) Elected as a Member of the SC Public Service Commission on January 13, 1971, and he resigned from the House on June 30, 1971.
(5) Elected to replace either Charles Lem Harper or Henry Grady Yonce on September 14, 1971.
<< 1970  

1972 >>

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved