South Carolina During the 1900s - The General Assembly

Members of the 87th General Assembly - 1947 to 1948
This 87th General Assembly convened in two regular sessions: The first session was held from January 14th to May 14th in 1947. The second session was held from January 13th to April 15th in 1948.

Election District


House of Representatives

Abbeville County

John Moore Mars

Marvin Eugene Crawford

Robert Stone Galloway

Aiken County

Frederick Cannon Brinkley

Charles Earl Simons, Jr.

Delmus Irving Weeks

Leonard Austin Williamson

Allendale County 

James Martin Thomas

George Warren, Jr.

Anderson County

James Burriss Pruitt

Edgar Harrison Agnew

Nathan Evander Cartee

Ray Columbus Hilliard

James Byrum Lawson

Carl Ray McGuire (1) / Floyd Eugene Wright (2)

William Harper Welborn

Bamberg County

James Carlisle Kearse

Fred Leroy Hiers

Barnwell County

Edgar Allen Brown**

Solomon Blatt

Beaufort County

William Brantley Harvey

Thomas Legare Rodgers

Calhoun Thomas

Berkeley County

Rembert Coney Dennis

Claudius Garnett Bradwell

Mark Elton Mitchum

Calhoun County 

Lawrence Marion Gressette

David Derrick Buyck

Charleston County

Oliver Thornwell Wallace

Arthur Henry Burton

Nathaniel Wilson Cabell

Thomas Allen Legare, Jr.

Lionel Kennedy Legge

William Henry McDaniel

Robert Barnwell Stall, Jr.

Joseph Franklin Wise, Jr.

Thomas William Young

Cherokee County

George Washington McKown

Edward Jefferson Clary

Jefferson Davis Parris

Chester County

Wilbur Gill Grant

James Carl Gibson

Robert Witherspoon Hemphill

Chesterfield County

William Leland Rivers

Paul McManus Arant

Thomas Beck Ingram

Clarendon County

James Hugh McFaddin

Frederick Lesesne

Charles Nelson Plowden

Colleton County

Richard Manning Jefferies

Isadore Bogoslow

Edgar Virgil Perry

Darlington County

James Pierce Mozingo, III

William James Carter

Edward Colgate Dennis, Jr.

Franklin Bannon Hines (3) / William Egleston (4)

Dillon County 

David Smith Allen

James Breeden Gibson

Roger William Scott

Dorchester County

James Dantzler Parler

Hubert Wiley Smoak

Edgefield County

William Preston Yonce

Thomas Benjamin Greneker (5) / Joseph William Cox (6)

Fairfield County

James Morris Lyles

Boyd Brown (7)

Henry Norwood Obear

Florence County

Peter Hector McEachin

Philip Heller Arrowsmith

Gordon Badger Baker (8)

Herbert Thomas Floyd

William Clyde Graham

Richard Allston Palmer

Georgetown County

Olin Sawyer

James Brown Morrison*

John Henning Porter

Greenville County

Ray Robinson Williams

LeRoy Anderson

Marion Brawley, Jr.

William Eugene Chandler, Jr.

Benton Mendenhall Gibson

William Marion Gresham

Ansel Montgomery Hawkins

Thomas Manly Hudson

Patrick Bradley Morrah, Jr.

Charles Arthur Rice (9)

Greenwood County

Calhoun Allen Mays

James Perrin Anderson

Samuel Horace Benjamin

George Preston Callison

Hampton County

George Warren

John Morrison Tuten

Horry County

Frank Austin Thompson

Doc David Harrelson

Robert Clifton Page

Bayliss Larkin Spivey

Jasper County

William Jefferson Ellis

Delmar Newlin Rivers

Kershaw County

William Townley Redfearn (10) /
Robert MacMillan Kennedy, Jr. (11)

James Clator Arrants

Arthur L. Jones

Lancaster County

Willie Bruce Wiliams

James Henry Howey

James Erskine Thompson

Laurens County

Otto Langdon Long

Walter L. Martin

Charles Llewellyn Milam

Robert Claude Wasson

Lee County

William Peebles Baskin

Hugh Richardson Colclough

Charles Marion Mimms

Lexington County

Ryan Milo Smith

McKendree Barr

Asbury Francis Lever, Jr.

Marion County

Earle Rogers Ellerby

John Ralph Gasque

James Curtis Hooks

Marlboro County

Paul Allen Wallace

Josiah James Evans

Ellis Michael O'Tuel, Jr.

McCormick County

Lawrence Lamar Hester

Hugh Cook Brown

Newberry County

Marvin Eugene Abrams

Russell Aubrey Harley

Thomas Harrington Pope


James Lewis Rowland

John Alexander Knox

John Pat Miley

Orangeburg County

Thomas Braxton Bryant, Jr.

James Moncrief Brailsford, Jr.

Charlton Bowen Horger

Hugo Sheridan Sims, Jr.

Marshall Burns Williams

Pickens County

Thomas Bailey Nalley

Dwight Andrew Holder

Theron P. Kelly

Richland County

Yancey Alford McLeod

John Clarke DuPre

S. Rhea Haskell

Zach McGhee

John Gregg McMaster

Francis Lesly Rawl

Claud Napoleon Sapp, Jr.

Adolphus Fletcher Spigner, Jr.

Saluda County

Homer Rauch Long

Thomas Wainwright Blease

Spartanburg County

Howard Wofford McCravy

Thomas Bothwell Butler

Tracy Jackson Gaines

Thomas Judson Hendrix

Cameron Bruce Littlejohn

Paul Stanley McChesney, Jr.

Arnold Ross Merchant

Walter Brown Miller

Matthew Poliakoff

Sumter County

Shepard Kollock Nash

Wayne Law Clifton

Charles Lynum Cuttino

Henry Laval Jackson

Union County

Bruce Welborn White

John Raymond Flynn

Robert Lee Wilburn

Williamsburg County

Edward Williams Cantwell

Bradford O'Neal Browder

Louis LeMaire Lesesne

Laurie Samuel Rogerson

York County

Joseph Rodney Moss (12)

James Davidson Grist, Jr.

William Lewis Wallace

Robert Miller Ward

James Moffatt Wylie
* James Brown Morrison was elected as Speaker of the House. James Edwin Hunter, Jr. was elected as Clerk.
** Edgar Allen Brown was elected President Pro Tempore of the Senate. James Henry Fowles was elected as Clerk.
(1) Resigned on June 2, 1947 to join the SC Constabulary.
(2) Elected to replace Carl Ray McGuire, qualified on 1/13/1948.
(3) Elected to the SC Public Service Commission for the 6th Judicial Circuit on January 22, 1947, and resigned from the House on January 27, 1947.
(4) Elected to replace Franklin Bannon Hines, qualified on 2/26/1947.
(5) Elected as a Judge of the 11th Judicial Circuit of SC on February 5, 1947, and resigned from the House on April 8, 1947.
(6) Elected to replace Thomas Benjamin Greneker, qualified on 5/6/1947.
(7) Resigned on April 15, 1948 after being elected to the SC Highway Commission from the 6th Judicial Circuit.
(8) Elected as a Judge of the 12th Judicial Circuit of SC on February 4, 1948.
(9) Elected as a Member of the SC Public Service Commission on March 16, 1948 and resigned from the House on April 10, 1948.
(10) William Townley Redfearn died on January 3, 1947, before the first session began.
(11) Elected to replace William Townley Redfearn, qualified on 2/4/1947.
(12) Elected as a Judge of the 6th Judicial Circuit on January 14, 1948, and resigned from the Senate at the end of the second session.
<< 1946  

1949 >>

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved