South Carolina During the 1900s - The General Assembly

Members of the 86th General Assembly - 1945 to 1946
This 86th General Assembly convened in two regular sessions: The first session was held from January 9th to May 5th in 1945. The second session was held from January 8th to March 30th in 1946. A Special Session was convened from April 2nd to April 13th in 1946.

Election District


House of Representatives

Abbeville County

John Moore Mars

Robert Stone Galloway

William Pinckney Greene, Jr.

Aiken County

Frederick Cannon Brinkley

Eldridge Jerome Craig

William Earl Eidson

Jesse Clinton Lynch

Allendale County 

William Edwin Myrick

George Warren, Jr.

Anderson County

James Burriss Pruitt

William Newton Clinkscales

Troy Carlton Davis

Benjamin Wright Fagg

James Byrum Lawson

Samuel Edward Whitten

Floyd Eugene Wright

Bamberg County

James Carlisle Kearse

Fred Leroy Hiers

Barnwell County

Edgar Allen Brown**

Solomon Blatt*

Beaufort County

William Brantley Harvey

Charles Jones Colcock

Calhoun Thomas

Berkeley County

Rembert Coney Dennis

Mark Elton Mitchum

Marion Fenton Winter

Calhoun County 

Lawrence Marion Gressette

Edward Wimberly (1) / David Derrick Buyck (2)

Charleston County

Oliver Thornwell Wallace

Michael O'Connor Gardner

James Armstrong Lofton

Lloyd Watson McBay

Nathan Rosen

Harvey Greenlee Senseney

Huger Sinkler

William Withers Walker

Thomas William Young

Cherokee County

Joseph Holmes Hall

James Claude Fort

Lake Wilson Stroup

Chester County

Wilbur Gill Grant

James Hicklin Craig

James Carl Gibson

Chesterfield County

James Ernest Leppard

George Winfield Gregory

Lee Alexander Usher

Clarendon County

John Grier Dinkins

Miller Hurbert Mellette

Charles Nelson Plowden

Colleton County

Richard Manning Jefferies

Winston Curtis Pearcy

Edgar Virgil Perry

Darlington County

James Pierce Mozingo, III

Dan Edward Beasley (3) / William James Carter (4)

Franklin Bannon Hines

James Woodrow Lewis (5) / Luther Henry Stokes (6)

Dillon County 

James Douglas Manning

Stonewall Jackson

Charles Lafayette Wheeler

Dorchester County

James Dantzler Parler

Hubert Wiley Smoak

Edgefield County

William Preston Yonce

Horace Witt Sawyer

Fairfield County

James Morris Lyles

Moultrie Dwight Douglas

John Philip Isenhower

Florence County

George Wilton Keels

Steve Henry Anderson

Gordon Badger Baker

Herbert Thomas Floyd

William Clyde Graham

Richard Allston Palmer

Georgetown County

Olin Sawyer

James Brown Morrison

John Henning Porter

Greenville County

Ray Robinson Williams

Robert Andrew Brown

James Harvey Cleveland

Benton Mendenhall Gibson

William Marion Gresham

Ansel Montgomery Hawkins

Thomas Manly Hudson

James Jefferson Reid

Charles Arthur Rice

Charlie Van Verner

Greenwood County

Calhoun Allen Mays

James Perrin Anderson

Samuel Horace Benjamin

Joseph Harrison Milford

Hampton County

George Warren

John Morrison Tuten

Horry County

Frank Austin Thompson

John Robert Carter

Walter Porter Gore

Doc David Harrelson

Jasper County

William Jefferson Ellis

Delmar Newlin Rivers

Kershaw County

William Townley Redfearn

Lewis Craig Clyburn

Robert MacMillan Kennedy, Jr.

Lancaster County

John Reece Funderburk

Ferris Lightner Blackmon

Ned Gregory

Laurens County

Otto Langdon Long

Walter L. Martin

Charles Llewellyn Milam

James Henry Sullivan (7) / Robert Claude Wasson (8)

Lee County

William Peebles Baskin

Charlie Wilson Josey

Charles Marion Mimms

Lexington County

Ryan Milo Smith

Otto Blease Ellison

Pope Spratt Hall

Marion County

Earle Rogers Ellerby

John Ralph Gasque

Wilbur Simpson White

Marlboro County

Charles Sinclair McCall

George William Freeman, Jr.

Ross Moore Lindsay

McCormick County

Lawrence Lamar Hester

Hugh Cook Brown

Newberry County

Marvin Eugene Abrams

Steve Campbell Griffith (9) / Thomas Harrington Pope (10)

Russell Aubrey Harley


Harry Robinson Hughs (11) /
James Lewis Rowland (12)

Whit Holleman

William Thomas Stevenson

Orangeburg County

Thomas Braxton Bryant, Jr.

Thomas Jackson Etheredge, Jr.

Andrew Jackson Hydrick

Thomas Alexander Salley

Joseph Sebastian Weeks

Pickens County

Fred Fulton Williams

Thomas Bailey Nalley

George Maxcy Perry

Richland County

Joe Earle Berry

Legare Bates (13) / John Gregg McMaster, Jr. (14)

Heyward Brockington

Owens Taylor Cobb

Samuel Burton Doughton

Walton Harlowe Greever, Jr.

Cole Benjamin Sutton

Charles Laney Talbert

Saluda County

Homer Rauch Long

James Jacob Wheeler

Spartanburg County

Howard Wofford McCravy

James Arthur Adams

Paul Mason Allen

Thomas Wright Cox

Tracy Jackson Gaines

Thomas Judson Hendrix

Gammey Mitchell Hill

Matthew Poliakoff

Earl Edward Watson

Sumter County

Alfred Scarborough

Charles Lynum Cuttino

Washington Reynolds Keels

Charles Harry Truluck, Sr.

Union County

Robert Christopher Williams

John D. Long

Robert Lee Wilburn

Williamsburg County

John Frank Eatmon (15)

Vernal Glenn Arnette

Charlie Dewey Huggins

Laurie Samuel Rogerson

York County

Joseph Rodney Moss

William Rufus Bradford

John Henry Mills (16) / Harriet Frazier Johnson (17)

William Lewis Wallace

Wallace Duncan Wolfe, Sr.
* Solomon Blatt was elected as Speaker of the House. James Edwin Hunter, Jr. was elected as Clerk.
** Edgar Allen Brown was elected President Pro Tempore of the Senate. James Henry Fowles was elected as Clerk.
(1) Elected to the SC Public Service Commission for the 7th Judicial Circuit on February 7, 1945, and resigned from the House on May 21, 1945.
(2) Elected to replace Edward Wimberly, qualified on 1/8/1946.
(3) Resigned on May 5, 1945 after accepting the position of Clerk of Court for Darlington County.
(4) Elected to replace Dan Edward Beasley, qualified on 1/8/1946.
(5) Elected as a Judge of the 4th Judicial Circuit of SC on April 26, 1945 and resigned from the House on May 25, 1945.
(6) Elected to replace James Woodrow Lewis, qualified on 1/8/1946.
(7) Resigned on May 15, 1945 after his appointment to the SC Tax Commission.
(8) Elected to replace James Henry Sullivan, qualified on 1/8/1946.
(9) Elected as a Judge of the 8th Judicial Circuit of SC on April 11, 1945, and resigned from the House on May 4, 1945.
(10) Elected to replace Steve Campbell Griffith, qualified on 1/8/1946.
(11) Harry Robinson Hughs died on October 28, 1945.
(12) Elected to replace Harry Robinson Hughs, qualified on 1/8/1946.
(13) Appointed Judge of Richland County by Governor Ransome J. Williams and resigned from the House on March 6, 1945.
(14) Elected to replace Legare Bates, qualified on 4/3/1945.
(15) Elected as a Judge of the 3rd Judicial District on February 27, 1946.
(16) Elected as Sergeant-at-Arms of the House of Representatives on January 9, 1945.
(17) Elected to replace John Henry Mills, qualified on 2/14/1945.
<< 1944  

1947 >>

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved