South Carolina During the 1900s - The General Assembly

Members of the 72nd General Assembly - 1917 to 1918

This 72nd General Assembly convened in two regular sessions: The first session was held from January 9th to February 21st in 1917. The second session was held from January 8th to February 12th in 1918.

During 1916, the SC General Assembly established McCormick County. Its citizens elected their first delegates to the Senate and House of Representatives during the 1917 general election. Abbeville County lost one House delegate as a result.

Election District


House of Representatives

Abbeville County

John McKee Nickles (1)

John Howard Moore

Gottlob Augustus Neuffer

Aiken County

John Frederick Williams

Byron Kershaw Keenan

Gasper Loren Toole

Stanmore Butler Williams

Anderson County

Jesse Louis Sherard

Thomas Leftwick Clinkscales, Jr.

Joseph Calaway Duckworth

Asa Hall, Jr.

Harvey Kelly

Willis Washington Scott

Henry Clinton Summers, Jr.

Bamberg County

James Benjamin Black

Bert Dean Carter

John Wesley Crum, Jr.

Barnwell County

John Henry Johnson

James Evans Davis

Augustus Washington Owens

Robinson Plato Searson, Jr.

Beaufort County

Niels Christensen (2)

Joseph Christopher Bailey

Elmer Munson Fripp

Berkeley County

Joseph Arnold Harvey

George Buist Davis

Edward James Dennis, Jr.

Calhoun County 

James Arthur Banks

Jacob Clifton Redmon

Charleston County

Huger Sinkler

Edward Henry Barnwell

Joseph Fromberg

Thomas Sanders McMillan

Edward Perry Passailaigue

Edward Mitchell Seabrook

Harvey Greenlee Senseney

Francis Marion Whaley (3)

Arthur Rutledge Young

Cherokee County

Richmond Stacy

Robert Albertus Dobson

Jesse G. Wright

Chester County

Ashbel Green Brice (4)

Elliott Holmes Hall

John McLure Hemphill

Chesterfield County

George Kershaw Laney

Allan MacFarlan

Jesse Clifton Rivers

Clarendon County

Charlton Durant

William Wiley Johnson

James Henry Lesesne

Miller Hurbert Mellette

Colleton County

James Graham Padgett

John Coker Goodwin

William Wightman Smoak

Darlington County

Clarence David Lee

E. Brooks Boykin

John O. Kelly

Victor Elliott Rector

Dillon County 

James Haselden Manning

James Willis Hamer

Leroy Mitchell Rogers

Dorchester County

Herbert Hodges Gross

John Clifton Coney

Edgefield County

Benjamin Edward Nicholson

Nathaniel George Evans

James Lucas Walker

Fairfield County

Thomas Hoge Ketchin

Charles Strother Ford

Clarke Wardlaw McCants

Florence County

Joseph Wynans McCown

James Edward Anderson

John Jay Eaddy

James William King

Georgetown County

LeGrand Guerry Walker**

Herbert Lee Smith, Jr.

Marvin McR. Thomas

Greenville County

Proctor Aldrich Bonham

Thomas Perrin Cothran*

Ira Andrew Gresham

Furman Lumas Long

Oscar Kern Mauldin (5) / John Thomas Bramlett (6)

Walter Branson Stafford

James Benjamin Wasson

Greenwood County

John Kemp Durst (7) /
Samuel Hodges McGhee (8)

Paul Barmore Ellis

Jones Fuller

Robert Titus Strom

Hampton County

Edward Robert Ginn

Eugene Bonham McSweeney

Horry County

Henry Lee Buck

Waterman Mayberry Booth

Walter LeRoy Mishoe

Jasper County

Henry Klugh Purdy

J. Wiley Roberts

Kershaw County

Archibald James Beattie

Henry Thomas Johnson

Norman Smith Richards

Lancaster County

David Reece Williams

Charles Frank Clyburn

Harry Hines

Laurens County

John Henry Wharton

David Luther Boozer

William Downs Byrd

William Rasor Richey, Jr.

Lee County

George Myers Stuckey

Robert Ellison Dennis

Joseph Benjamin Lane

Lexington County

Edgar Clinton Ridgell

Thaddeus Haskell Shull

Sydney Emanuel Smith

George Baylis Wingard

Marion County

Maxcy Clarence Harrelson

William Gairy Nichols

William Benjamin Norton

Marlboro County

Josiah James Evans

Jeff Davis Edens

Daniel Lee McLaurin

Olin Marcellus Pegues

McCormick County

Frank Cook Robinson

William Scott Middleton

Newberry County

Alan Johnstone

William Bowman Boinest

Thomas Andrew Dominick

Hubert Henry Evans


Joseph Warren Shelor

Harry Robinson Hughs

William Preston Mason

Orangeburg County

Edward Brodie Friday

Joseph Andrew Berry

Hampton Pitts Fulmer

Junius Theodore Liles

Whiteford Claude Martin

Marvin May Riddle

Pickens County

William Taylor O'Dell

William Elbert Findley

William Luther Pickens

Richland County

Adolphus Fletcher Spigner

John Wolff Crews

James Henry Hammond

James Alfred Hoyt* / Arthur Buist Langley (9)

Morris Carmicahel Lumpkin (10) / George Washington Thomas (11)

Jodie Morgan Rawlinson

Saluda County

Jefferson Davis Griffith

William Lowndes Daniel

Joel Clinton Riley

Spartanburg County

William Simpson Rogers, Jr.

John Buford Atkinson

Jesse Washington Boyd

Amzi Cason Gaston

Lloyd Bratton Harrison (12)

Alfred Whitsett Horton

Evins V. Lanford

E. Toy Westmoreland

Sumter County

Ralph Dickson Epps

Wilmot Louis McCutchen (13) / Samuel Quinn (14)

David DeLeon Moise

Arthur Kendrick Sanders (15) / Richard Baker Belser (16)

Union County

John Gordon Hughes

Thomas Cary Duncan

John Knapp Hamblin

Williamsburg County

Edwin Christopher Epps

Samuel Olin Eaddy

Samuel Allen Graham

David Eugene McCutchen

York County

James Emitt Beamguard

William Rufus Bradford

Robert Madison Mitchell

Ebenezer Gettys Nunn

Emmet William Pursley
* James Alfred Hoyt was elected as Speaker of the House. He resigned on January 2, 1918 to pursue private business. Thomas Perrin Cothran was then elected as Speaker of the House on January 8, 1918. J. Wilson Gibbes was elected as Clerk.
** LeGrand Guerry Walker was elected as President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Marvin McAlister Mann was elected as Clerk.
(1) Inducted into the U.S. Army as a Private on October 14, 1918.
(2) On active duty in the U.S. Navy during the war, but attended Senate sessions.
(3) Resigned on December 7, 1917 to join the U.S. Navy as an Assistant Paymaster.
(4) Ashbel Green Brice died on January 30, 1918.
(5) Resigned on January 12, 1918 to join Company H, 55th U.S. Infantry.
(6) Elected to replace Oscar Kern Mauldin, qualified on 1/31/1918.
(7) Resigned from the Senate after being appointed as Clerk of Court in Greenwood County.
(8) Elected to replace John Kemp Durst, qualified on 1/8/1918.
(9) Elected to replace James Alfred Hoyt, qualified on 1/22/1918.
(10) Resigned in order to join the U.S. Army.
(11) Elected to replace Morris Carmichael Lumpkin, qualified on 1/22/1918.
(12) Resigned on January 12, 1918 to join Company M, 39th Regiment of the U.S. Army.
(13) Resigned to join the U.S. Army, subsequently served in France.
(14) Elected to replace Wilmot Louis McCutchen, qualified on 1/30/1918.
(15) Elected as Superintendent of the SC State Penitentiary on January 17, 1917, resigned from the House on March 1, 1917.
(16) Elected to replace Arthur Kendrick Sanders, qualified on 1/29/1918.
<< 1916  

1919 >>

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved