South Carolina During the 1900s - The General Assembly

Members of the 71st General Assembly - 1915 to 1916
This 71st General Assembly convened in two regular sessions: The first session was held from January 12th to February 20th in 1915. The second session was held from January 11th to February 19th in 1916.

Election District


House of Representatives

Abbeville County

John McKee Nickles

William Norwood Graydon

John Howard Moore

Frank Cook Robinson

Aiken County

John Frederick Williams

Elijah Andrew Austin

E. Foster Brigham

Gasper Loren Toole

Anderson County

Jesse Louis Sherard

S.A. Burns

Rufus Woodruff Fant, Jr.

James Henry Hutchinson

George McDuffy Reid

John Taliaferro West

Samuel McKay Wolfe

Bamberg County

James Benjamin Black

Bert Dean Carter

John Wesley Crum, Jr.

Barnwell County

Angus Bethune Patterson

Robert Bruce Fickling

John William Folk

Robinson Plato Searson, Jr.

Beaufort County

Niels Christensen

George Wilkes Beckett

Elmer Munson Fripp

Berkeley County

Joseph Arnold Harvey

William Pier Russell

Charles Theodore Shuler

Calhoun County 

James Arthur Banks

Dan R. Sturkie

Charleston County

Huger Sinkler

Moultrie Johnson Clement (1)

Joseph Fromberg

Horace Girardeau Leland

Richard Morrison Lofton

Leonard Francis Melfi

George Henry Momier

James Brown Morrison

Harvey Greenlee Senseney

Cherokee County

Richmond Stacy

Benjamin F. Ramseur

Jesse G. Wright

Chester County

Peter Lawrence Hardin (2) /
Ashbel Green Brice (3)

Richard O'Neale Atkinson

Samuel Thompson McKeown

Chesterfield County

George Kershaw Laney

William Preston Odom

Jesse Clifton Rivers

Clarendon County

Louis Appelt (4) /
Charlton Durant (5)

Ralph Smith DesChamps

W.N. Rush

R.D. White

Colleton County

James Graham Padgett

David Lawrence Smith

D.M. Varn

Darlington County

Clarence David Lee

William Thomas Harper

Julius Stewart McInnes

William Arthur Summer

Dillon County 

James Haselden Manning

Robert Julian Dew

Leroy Mitchell Rogers

Dorchester County

Herbert Hodges Gross

Isaac Shepard Hutto

Edgefield County

Benjamin Edward Nicholson

James Pickens DeLaughter (6) / James Lucas Walker (7)

Samuel Tompkins Williams

Fairfield County

Thomas Hoge Ketchin

William Woodward Dixon

Horace Trayton

Florence County

Joseph Wynans McCown

R. Keith Charles

William Solomon Lynch

Charles Wesley Muldrow

Georgetown County

LeGrand Guerry Walker**

Capers Gamewell Barr

Arthur Locke King

Greenville County

Wilton Haynsworth Earle

Thomas Perrin Cothran

Henry Hollingsworth Harris

Allan Reece Hawkins (8) / John Terry Wood (9)

Joseph Allen McCullough

Angus McQueen Martin

Robert Addison Means

Greenwood County

Daniel Brunson Johnson

Monroe Gilbert Bowles

John Kemp Durst

Robert Titus Strom

Hampton County

Edward Robert Ginn

George Warren

Horry County

Henry Lee Buck

Enoch Silvis Caroll Baker

Alonzo D. Jackson

Jasper County

James Clarence Richardson

William Robert Hubbard

Kershaw County

Archibald James Beattie

J.M. Martin

Laurens Tenney Mills

Lancaster County

David Reece Williams

Samuel Eldridge Bailes

Joseph Copeland Massey

Laurens County

Orion Pierce Goodwin

Robley Dunglison Boyd

Silas Hogan Goggans

William Wilson Harris

Lee County

George Myers Stuckey

Robert Ellison Dennis

Joseph Benjamin Lane

Lexington County

William Henry Sharpe

Jesse M. Malpass

William Martin Oxner

Jacob Brooks Wingard

Marion County

Henry Mullins

William Evans Blue

Benjamin Bethea Sellers

Marlboro County

Josiah James Evans

John William LeGrand

Daniel Lee McLaurin

Frank Preston Brooks Pegues

Newberry County

Alan Johnstone

Byron Vivian Chapman

George Sewell Mower*

Neal Wells Workman


Edward Ebenezer Verner

James H. Brown

Frank Hezekiah Shirley

Orangeburg County

Robert Lide

Joseph Andrew Berry

Thomas M. Dantzler

William Martin Fair

Edward Brodie Friday

Junius Theodore Liles

Pickens County

William Taylor O'Dell

James Lewis Bolt

James Peele Carey, Jr.

Richland County

Adolphus Fletcher Spigner

James Henry Hammond

James Alfred Hoyt

Joseph Smith Huffman

Alan Johnstone, Jr.

John Joseph McMahan

Saluda County

George Walker Wightman

Unknown / Vacant

Unknown / Vacant

Spartanburg County

Howard Bobo Carlisle

Henry Harding Arnold

Jesse Washington Boyd

Roland Linwood Lee

Thomas Minter Lyles

Walter Graham Query (10) / R. Burton Hicks (11)

William Simpson Rogers, Jr.

William R. Zimmerman

Sumter County

Ralph Dickson Epps

George William Dick (12) / Richard Baker Belser (13)

David DeLeon Moise

Arthur Kendrick Sanders

Union County

John Gordon Hughes

Louis Leon Wagnon

John Frost Walker, Jr.

Williamsburg County

Edwin Christopher Epps

John Jacob McBryde Graham

Samuel Allen Graham

Richard Kellahan Wallace

York County

James Emitt Beamguard

William Rufus Bradford

William John Cherry

Ebenezer Gettys Nunn

Thomas Faulkner Lesslie
* George Sewell Mower was elected as Speaker of the House. J. Wilson Gibbes was elected as Clerk.
** LeGrand Guerry Walker was elected as President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Marvin McAlister Mann was elected as Clerk.
(1) Moultrie Johnson Clement died on February 11, 1916.
(2) Peter Lawrence Hardin died on December 17, 1914 before taking his seat.
(3) Elected to replace Peter Lawrence Hardin, qualified on 1/19/1915.
(4) Louis Appelt died on April 21, 1915.
(5) Elected to replace Louis Appelt, qualified on 1/11/1916.
(6) James Pickens DeLaughter died on January 14, 1915.
(7) Elected to replace James Pickens DeLaughter, qualified on 2/2/1915.
(8) Resigned circa June 11, 1915 to accept the position of Superintendent of Public Schools at Williamston.
(9) Elected to replace Allan Reece Hawkins, qualified on 1/11/1916.
(10) Appointed to the SC Tax Commission by Governor Richard I. Manning on February 27, 1915, and resigned from the House circa March 2, 1915.
(11) Elected to replace Walter Graham Query, qualified on 1/11/1916.
(12) Appointed Postmaster of Sumter by President Woodrow Wilson, resigned from the House circa March 3, 1915.
(13) Elected to replace George William Dick, qualified on 1/11/1916.
<< 1914  

1917 >>

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved