South Carolina During the Late 1800s - 1865 to 1900

Members of the 60th General Assembly - 1892 to 1893

This 60th General Assembly convened in two regular sessions: The first session was held from November 22nd to December 24th in 1892. The second session was held from November 28th to December 23rd in 1893.

Due to Census reapportionment, some counties were allocated more delegates, while others had their number of delegates reduced in the House.

Election District


House of Representatives

Abbeville County

Robert Reid Hemphill

Frank Boyd Gary

Thomas Addison Graham

Robert Emmett Hill

Henry Jefferson Kinard

David Haddon Magill

Aiken County

John Gary Evans

Mansel T. Gunter

Oliver Cromwell Jordan

F.P. Woodward

Anderson County

James Perry Glenn

Joshua Whitner Ashley

John Enoch Breazeale

Abner R. Cox

Silas Nathaniel Pearman

John Belton Watson

Barnwell County

Stanwix Greenville Mayfield

Henry Hayne Crum

Henry Calhoun Folk

J.D. Kinard

Melvin Watson Phillips

Joseph M. Skinner

Beaufort County

William Johnson Verdier

Sanders Glover

Maurice C. Hamilton

F.T. Hardee

January R. Rivers

Berkeley County

Hawkins King Jenkins

George Washington Avinger

William Medicus Breeland

Edward James Dennis, Jr.

Joseph Arnold Harvey

William Henderson

John Thomas Russell

Charleston County

George Lamb Buist,
Augustine Thomas Smythe

Thomas Wright Bacot

George W. Egan

Edward Walter Hughes

Richard Morrison Lofton

David A.J. Sullivan

Kirby Smith Tupper

George Frederick VonKolnitz, Jr.

Chester County

John Hemphill McDaniel

Ashbell Greene Brice

Peter Lawrence Hardin

Samuel Moffat Wylie (1)

Chesterfield County

David Townley Redfearn

James Madison Hough

Franklin Pierce Taylor

Clarendon County

Louis Henry DesChamps (2) /
Leonidas Motte Ragin (3)

Joseph Whitner Kennedy

Stephen Abraham Nettles

Ezra Allen Tindal

Colleton County

Archibald Campbell Sanders

Marion Reed Cooper

Calvin William Garris

L.A. Harper

J.R. Stokes

Darlington County

James Wesley Beasley

John William Davis

John Sebastian DuBose

Walter Vaughn

Edgefield County

Washington Hodges Timmerman**

Joseph H. Edwards

William Robert Parks

James Butler Suddah

Philemon Berry Waters

William Henry Yeldell

Fairfield County

Thomas Scott Brice

Robert Young Fairfield

William James Johnson

Thomas P. Mitchell

Florence County

Leonard Smiley Bigham

James Orr Byrd

Samuel Robert Chandler

Brown Bryan McWhite

Georgetown County

Walter Hazard (4)

Robert Bannecka Anderson, Jr.

Gabriel Levington Ellis

Greenville County

John Ramsay Harrison

Hugh Blair Buist

Zerah Hammett

Benjamin Franklin Perry

Basil Manly Shuman

Jeremiah Martin Whitmire

Hampton County

James Washington Moore

William Harrison Mauldin

Augustus Marion Youmans

Horry County

John Pickens Derham

Jeremiah Mishoe

John M. Stalvey

Kershaw County

James Robert Magill

W.R. Bruce

Thomas Jefferson Kirkland

Lancaster County

Thomas Jefferson Strait (5) /
Benjamin Franklin Miller (6)

J.N. Estridge

Ira Boyd Jones*

Laurens County

Anthony Cook Fuller

A.J. Smith

Richard Cannon Watts (7)

John Stephens Wolff

Lexington County

Cyprian Melanchthon Efird

Darling Johnes Knotts

William Honor Fleming Rast

Marion County

William Alexander Brown

Daniel Washington McLaurin

William Alva Oliver

Lot Berry Rogers

Marlboro County

William DeWitt Evans**

John Thomas Covington

Daniel Calhoun Roper

Hugh Milton Stackhouse 

Newberry County

Jefferson Allen Sligh (8) /
George Sewell Mower (9)

Coleman Livingston Blease

John Thomas Duncan

William D. Hardy


Sloan Yowell Stribling

M.B. Dendy

J.L. Smith

Orangeburg County

William Samuel Barton

John Hamilton Felder

Jacob Hildebrand Wolfe Hydrick

Laurence Keitt Sturkie

William Otis Tatum

William Chevalette Wolfe

Pickens County

William Taylor O'Dell

Charles Henry Carpenter

Laban Mauldin

Richland County

John Trimmier Sloan, Jr.

John Cheves Haskell

William Barr Lawrence

John Peyre Thomas, Jr.

Francis Hopkins Weston

Spartanburg County

John Stanyarne Wilson

Charles A. Barry

L.E. Farley

William Moultrie Foster

John Allen Pruitt Lancaster

M.P. Patton

Marcus Obadiah Rowland

Sumter County

Henry Taylor Abbott

J.F. Kellley

Richard Irvine Manning, III

Altamount Moses

William David Rhodes

Charles L. Williamson

Union County

Glenn Dickson Peake

Thomas Cary Duncan

R.W. Harris (10) / G. Walter Whitman (11)

John Randolph Jefferies

Williamsburg County

Asbury Hilliard Williams

John H. Blackwell

Edward R. Lesesne

William James Singletary

York County

David Edward Finley

Rufus Monroe Carroll

W. Norman Elder

William Beatty Love

J.C. Wilborn
* Ira Boyd Jones was elected as Speaker of the House. James Walter Gray was elected as Clerk.
** Washington Hodges Timmerman was elected as President Pro Tempore of the Senate. He was then elected as Lt. Governor on December 23, 1893 and became President of the Senate. William DeWitt Evans was then elected President Pro Tempore of the Senate on December 5, 1893. Sampson Pope was elected as Clerk.
(1) Samuel Moffat Wylie died on November 27, 1893.
(2) Louis Henry DesChamps died on January 14, 1893.
(3) Elected to replace Louis Henry DesChamps, qualified on 11/28/1893.
(4) Did not attend the second session due to illness and soon thereafter resigned.
(5) Resigned after the first session because he had been elected to the U.S. House of Representatives.
(6) Elected to replace Thomas Jefferson Strait, qualified on 11/28/1893.
(7) Elected as a Judge of the 4th Judicial Circuit of SC on December 1, 1893.
(8) Elected as the Railroad Commissioner on December 22, 1892 and resigned from the SC Senate after the first session.
(9) Elected to replace Jefferson Allen Sligh, qualified on 11/28/1893.
(10) Appointed as Postmaster of Union by President Grover Cleveland and assumed the office on 6/13/1893.
(11) Elected to replace R.W. Harris, qualified on 11/28/1893.
<< 1891  

1894 >>

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved