The Royal Colony of North Carolina

In 1734, Bladen Precinct and Onslow Precinct were created out of New Hanover Precinct. Each sent two representatives to the House of Burgesses that convened on January 15, 1734/35. Edgecombe Precinct reduced their number of delegate from five to two, apparently their sending five representatives earlier was a significant mistake. On February 6, 1738/39, Tyrrell Precinct began sending five representatives instead of the two they previously sent.

On March 8, 1738/9, the North Carolina General Assembly renamed all Precincts to Counties. Although not stated directly in the Act, it was also acknowledged that the overarching counties of Albemarle and Bath were abolished at this time.

<< 1734

1741 >>

© 2015 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved