The Royal Colony of North Carolina

8th House of Burgesses - 1739/40

The 8th House of Burgesses during the Royal Period met in two sessions. The first session met in New Bern from February 5th to February 27th in 1739/40. The second session met in Edenton from July 31st to August 22nd in 1740.

This is also considered to be the 4th House of Burgesses under Royal Governor Gabriel Johnston.

On July 11, 1740, Governor Gabriel Johnston and his Executive Council issued a proclamation for a new General Assembly to meet in Edenton on March 31, 1741.

On May 21, 1741, Governor Gabriel Johnston prorogued the General Assembly until September 15th and for it to meet in Wilmington. It is not known if this assembly met or not.

There are no House Journals or other House records for any sessions in 1741. However, most of the Acts have been preserved and can be found in the "Colonial Records of North Carolina, Volume XXIII."

However, it is known that the House of Burgesses approved the establishment of Northampton County in 1741.

Election District


Beaufort County

Simon Alderson

Benjamin Peyton

Bertie County

John Brown

Thomas Bryant

James Castellaw (1) / Unknown or Vacant

John Dawson

Benjamin Hill

Bladen County

William Bartram

Sir Richard Everard

Carteret County

Thomas Lovick

Arthur Mabson

Chowan County

John Benbury

Abraham Blacknell

John Blount

John Hodgson*

Thomas Walton

Craven County

William Brice

George Roberts

Currituck County

Jacob Caroon (Caron)

John Caroon (Caron)

William Leary

Thomas Lowther

George Powers

Edgecombe County



Hyde County

Samuel Sinclaire

Joseph Tart

New Hanover County

Maurice Moore

John Swann

Onslow County

John Starkey

Samuel Swann

Pasquotank County

David Bailey

Thomas Hunter

Thomas Pendleton

William Relfe

Caleb Sawyer

Perquimans County

Nathaniel Carruthers

Joshua Long

McRora Scarborough

James Sumner

Joseph Sutton

Tyrrell County

James Castellaw (1)

William Gardner

William Kennedy

Edmond Smithwick

Samuel Spruill

Town of Bath

Richard Rigby

Town of Edenton

James Craven

Town of New Bern

George Bould

Town of Wilmington**

William Farris (2)
* John Hodgson was elected Speaker of the House. William Herritage was appointed Clerk.
** This is the first assembly that authorized a delegate from the Town of Wilmington.
(1) James Castellaw was elected to represent both Bertie County and Tyrrell County. He chose to represent Tyrrell County.
(2) William Farris took his seat at the beginning of the second session.
It is unclear to this Author if the blanks are due to names not being recorded, if some delegates were not elected, or if some delegates merely did not show up for the assembly.
<< 1739

1742 >>

© 2015 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved