The Royal Colony of North Carolina

7th House of Burgesses - 1738-1739

The 7th House of Burgesses during the Royal Period met in New Bern in three sessions. The first session met from February 6th to March 7th in 1738/39. The second session met from March 7th to March 8th in 1738/39. The third session met on November 15, 1739, according to House journals.

It was during this Assembly that North Carolina changed from "precincts" to "counties."

This is also considered to be the 3rd House of Burgesses under Royal Governor Gabriel Johnston.

On December 24, 1738, Governor Gabriel Johnston and his Executive Council directed that elections for a new General Assembly be held on January 23, 1738/39.

On November 13, 1739 and on November 15, 1739, Governor Gabriel Johnston prorogued the General Assembly due to insufficient members - until November 19th.

Election District


Beaufort Precinct/County

Benjamin Peyton


Bertie Precinct/County

Thomas Bryant

James Castellaw

John Dawson

Benjamin Hill

Arthur Williams

Bladen Precinct/County

Sir Richard Everard

Col. William Forbes

Carteret Precinct/County

Thomas Lovick

Arthur Mabson

Chowan Precinct/County

Joseph Anderson

John Blount

John Hodgson

Thomas Luten


Craven Precinct/County

William Wilson


Currituck Precinct/County

John Etheridge

William Leary

William MacKay

Thomas Williams


Edgecombe Precinct/County

William Bryant


Hyde Precinct/County

Samuel Sinclaire

Thomas Smith

New Hanover Precinct/County

Maurice Moore

John Swann

Onslow Precinct/County

John Starkey

Samuel Swann

Pasquotank Precinct/County

Simon Bryan





Perquimans Precinct/County

Joshua Long

McRora Scarborough

Thomas Weeks



Tyrrell Precinct/County**

Capt. William Downing*

Stephen Lee

John Montgomery

Edmond Smithwick

Samuel Spruill

Town of Bath

Col. Robert Turner (1) / Richard Rigby (1)

Town of Edenton


Town of New Bern

Walter Lane
* Capt. William Downing was elected Speaker of the House. William Herritage was appointed Clerk.
** Tyrrell County was now authorized five representatives, when previously it was only authorized two.
(1) Col. Robert Turner's election was contested and a new election called. Richard Rigby won the new election.
It is unclear to this Author if the blanks are due to names not being recorded, if some delegates were not elected, or if some delegates merely did not show up for the assembly.
<< 1736

1739 >>

© 2015 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved