The Royal Colony of North Carolina

4th House of Burgesses - 1734

The 4th House of Burgesses during the Royal Period met in Edenton from November 6th to November 13th in 1734.

This is also considered to be the 4th House of Burgesses under Royal Governor George Burrington. It would also be his last.

On September 26, 1734, Governor George Burrington and his Executive Council agreed to call for a new General Assembly with elections to be held on October 22nd.
Onslow Precinct sent their first known delegates to this House of Burgesses.
Bladen Precinct was established in 1734, but they did not send their first delegates until the next House of Burgesses.
On November 11, 1734, the House of Burgesses ordered new Bills for the establishment of Bladen, Edgecombe, and Onslow Precincts.

On November 12, 1734, the House of Burgesses decided to relook at the creation of Tyrrell Precinct. They then read a letter from Col. Maurice Moore informing them that Governor Gabriel Johnston had arrived at Cape Fear on October 27th.

On November 13, the House of Burgesses read a proclamation that Governor Gabriel Johnston had qualified and taken office as the new governor of North Carolina with his Executive Council at Brunswick Town. They then unanimously agreed that they would proceed with no more business.

Election District


Beaufort Precinct

Edward Salter

Robert Turner

Bertie Precinct

James Castellaw

John Dawson

John Hodgson

Arthur Williams

George Wynns

Carteret Precinct

Col. Thomas Lovick

James Winwright

Chowan Precinct

Col. Henry Bonner

Capt. William Downing

Thomas Luten

Col. Edward Moseley*

Col. Cullen Pollock

Craven Precinct

Walter Lane

Daniel Shine

Currituck Precinct

John Etheridge

Lewis Jenkins

John Mann

George Powers

Henry White

Edgecombe Precinct**

Dr. Davy Hopper

Bartholomew McKinnie (MacQuinny)

James Milliken

John Spiers

William Whitehead

Hyde Precinct

William Cording

Samuel Sinclaire

New Hanover Precinct



Onslow Precinct

John Starkey

J. Williams

Pasquotank Precinct

Gabriel Burnham

Caleb Sawyer

Charles Sawyer

Col. John Palin

Jeremiah Symons (Simons)

Perquimans Precinct

Zebulon Clayton

Charles Denman

Joshua Long

Richard Skinner

Samuel Swann

Tyrrell Precinct***



Town of Bath 

Roger Kennion (Kenyon)

Town of Edenton

William Badham

Town of New Bern 

John Powell
* Edward Moseley was elected Speaker of the House. Abraham Blackall was appointed Clerk. 
** Edgecombe Precinct was only authorized two representatives, but for some unknown reason, they sent five to this meeting. It is not clear if any or all were seated.
*** Tyrrell Precinct was created in 1729, but for some reason it was not authorized to send delegates to the House of Burgesses until January 15, 1734/35.
It is not clear whether the precincts with no names identified are due to vacancies or if they simply did not show up in time.
<< 1733

1734/35 >>

© 2015 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved