The Royal Colony of North Carolina

22nd House of Burgesses - 1769

The 22nd House of Burgesses during the Royal Period met in New Bern in one session that met from October 23rd to November 6th in 1769.

This is also considered to the be the 2nd House of Burgesses under Royal Governor William Tryon.

Tryon County sent their first delegates to this House of Burgesses.

Election District


Anson County

Matthew Raiford

Samuel Spencer

Beaufort County

Thomas Bonner

Moses Hare

Bertie County

John Campbell

Lillington Lockhart

Cullen Pollock

Bladen County

William McRee

Unknown / Vacant

Brunswick County

William Davis

Robert Howe

Bute County

Thomas Eaton

Benjamin Ward

Carteret County

Joseph Bell

William Thompson

Chowan County

John B. Beasley

James Blount

Thomas Hoskins

Samuel Johnston

Timothy Walton

Craven County

Jacob Blount

Thomas Clifford Howe

Cumberland County

Unknown / Vacant

Unknown / Vacant

Currituck County

William Ferebee

Thomas Jones

Kader Merchant

Henry White

John Woodhouse

Dobbs County

William McKinnie

Abraham Sheppard

Duplin County

William Dickson

Felix Kenan

Edgecombe County

Aquilla Sugg

Micajah Thomas

Granville County

Howell Lewis

Thomas Person

Halifax County

William Alston

Blake Baker (1)

Hertford County

Edward Hare

Benjamin Wynns

Hyde County

Rotheas Latham

Edward McSwain

Johnston County

Needham Bryan

John Smith

Mecklenburg County

Abraham Alexander

Thomas Polk

New Hanover County

John Ashe

James Moore

Northampton County

Henry Dawson

Howell Edmunds

Onslow County

William Cray

Richard Ward

Orange County

Herman Husband

John Pryor

Pasquotank County

Jonathan Herring

Joseph Jones

John Lowry

Thomas Relfe

William Relfe

Perquimans County

Benjamin Harvey

John Harvey*

Thomas Harvey

Andrew Knox

John Skinner

Pitt County

John Simpson

John Spier

Rowan County

Christopher Nation

Griffith Rutherford

Tryon County
(created in 1768)

William Moore

Thomas Neel

Tyrrell County

Benjamin Hassel

Kenneth McKinzie

Ebenezer Slade

William Slade

Peter Wynn

Town of Bath

John Maule

Town of Brunswick

Maurice Moore

Town of Campbellton 

Unknown / Vacant

Town of Edenton

Joseph Hewes

Town of Halifax

Joseph Montfort

Town of New Bern

Richard Caswell

Town of Salisbury

John Dunn

Town of Wilmington

Cornelius Harnett
* John Harvey was elected Speaker of the House. James Green, Jr. was appointed Clerk. Benjamin Fordham was appointed Mace Bearer.
(1) Blake Baker died before taking his seat. Apparently, his seat remained vacant since there is no record of anyone replacing him during this assembly.
<< 1768

1770 >>

© 2015 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved