The Royal Colony of North Carolina

18th House of Burgesses - 1762

The 18th House of Burgesses during the Royal Period met in Wilmington in one session that met from November 3rd to December 11th of 1762.

This is also considered to be the 5th House of Burgesses under Royal Governor Arthur Dobbs.

Mecklenburg County was established in December of 1762, but they did not send their first delegates to the House of Burgesses until 1764.

Election District


Anson County

Nathaniel Alexander

Anthony Hutchings

Beaufort County

John Barrow

James Elliston

Bertie County

William Gray

Cullen Pollock

George Pollock

Bladen County

William Bartram

Hugh Waddell

Carteret County

John Backhouse

Richard Wallace

Chowan County

William Boyd

Francis Corbin

Joseph Creecy

Edward Vail

John Vail

Craven County

Joseph Leech

Thomas Pollock

Cumberland County

Alexander McAllister

Hector McNeill

Currituck County

Samuel Barnard

William Cumming

Willis Etheridge

William Ferebee

Henry White

Dobbs County

Richard Caswell

Francis Macilwean

Duplin County

Felix Kenan

Joseph Williams

Edgecombe County

Joseph Howell

Samuel Ruffin

Granville County

Samuel Benton

Robert Harris

Halifax County

Blake Baker

John Bradford

Hertford County

Henry Winborn

Unknown / Vacant

Hyde County

George Barrow

Thomas Smith

Johnston County

Needham Bryan

John Hinton

New Hanover County

John Ashe*

Alexander Lillington

Northampton County

Anthony Armistead

Thomas Pace

Onslow County

John Starkey

Samuel Swann

Orange County

Edmund Fanning

Thomas Lloyd

Pasquotank County

Joseph Jones

Lemuel Sawyer

Thomas Sawyer

Samuel Swann, Jr.

Thomas Taylor

Perquimans County

Charles Blount

Thomas Bonner

Benjamin Harvey

John Harvey

William Skinner

Pitt County

John Hardy

William Spiers

Rowan County

John Frohock

John Kerr

Tyrrell County

William Currell

Stephen Lee

William MacKay

Edmond Smithwick

Francis Ward

Town of Bath

Wyriot Ormond

Town of Brunswick

Maurice Moore

Town of Edenton

Samuel Johnston

Town of Halifax


Town of New Bern

Alexander Elmsley

Town of Wilmington

Cornelius Harnett
* John Ashe was elected Speaker of the House. William Herritage was appointed Clerk.
(1) Since the Sheriff of Halifax County did not call for an election, no delegate was elected. This seat remained vacant.
<< 1762

1764 >>

© 2015 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved