The Royal Colony of North Carolina

16th House of Burgesses - 1761

The 16th House of Burgesses during the Royal Period met in Wilmington in only one session from March 31st to April 23rd in 1761.

This is also considered to be the 3rd House of Burgesses under Royal Governor Arthur Dobbs.

On February 7, 1761, Governor Arthur Dobbs and his Executive Council ordered that a Writ of Election be issued for a General Assembly to be held in Wilmington on March 20th. As shown above, they assembled on March 31st.

On April 9, 1761, Governor Arthur Dobbs and his Executive Council directed the House of Burgesses to provide proper funds to raise and support a number of forces as they expect the Crown to ask for. This is at the height of the "French & Indian War."

On April 23, 1761, the House of Burgesses passed an Act for military assistance, but this Act included an objectionable line item. The Executive Council recommended approval anyway.

Election District


Anson County

Anthony Hutchings (1)

Charles Robinson

Beaufort County

John Barrow

Thomas Respess

Bertie County

William Gray

Cullen Pollock

George Pollock

Bladen County

William Bartram

Robert Howe

Carteret County

John Backhouse

William Cole

Chowan County

Thomas Barker

Robert Beasley

Henry Bonner

Francis Corbin

Edward Vail

Craven County

John Fonvielle

Thomas Graves

Cumberland County

Thomas Gibson

Hector McNeill

Currituck County

Joshua Campbell

Henry White

Robert Whitehall

Stephen Williams

William Williams

Dobbs County

Richard Caswell

William Whitfield

Duplin County

William Houston

John Sampson

Edgecombe County

William Haywood

Duncan Lemon

Granville County

Samuel Benton

Robert Harris

Halifax County

Blake Baker

Alexander McCulloch

Hyde County

Thomas Smith

William Webster

Johnston County

Needham Bryan

John Hinton

New Hanover County

John Ashe

George Moore

Northampton County

Robert Jones

Joseph Sykes

Onslow County

John Starkey

Samuel Swann*

Orange County

William Churton

Thomas Lloyd

Pasquotank County

Andrew Miller

Benjamin Palmer

Thomas Sawyer

Samuel Swann, Jr.

Thomas Taylor

Perquimans County

Thomas Bonner

Francis Brown (2)

Benjamin Harvey

John Harvey

William Skinner

Rowan County

John Frohock

Alexander Osborne

Tyrrell County

Jacob Blount

Stephen Hooker

Stephen Lee

William MacKay

Edmond Smithwick

Town of Bath

Michael Coutanch

Town of Brunswick

William Dry

Town of Edenton

Samuel Johnston

Town of Halifax

Stephen Dewey

Town of New Bern

Joseph Leech

Town of Wilmington

Cornelius Harnett
* Samuel Swann was elected Speaker of the House. William Herritage was appointed Clerk.
(1) Anthony Hutchings was declared ineligible since he was already the Sheriff of Anson County. Seat remained vacant.
(2) Francis Brown was expelled from the House of Burgesses for perjury on October 5, 1758 as a representative of Currituck County. He was elected in the previous election to represent Perquimans County, but was again deemed ineligible and was denied his seat. He was again elected to represent Perquimans County for this House of Burgesses, and this assembly gave up the fight and allowed him to take his seat.
<< 1760

1762 >>

© 2015 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved