The American Revolution in North Carolina

Tyrrell County Regiment of Militia

Date Established:


Original Officers:

September 9, 1775

Col. Edward Buncombe
Col. Clement Cook
Col. Benjamin Blount
Col. James Long

Col. Edward Buncombe
Lt. Col. Benjamin Blount
1st Maj. James Long
2nd Maj. Joseph Spruill, Jr.

Known Lt. Colonels:

Known Majors: 

Known Adjutants:

Lt. Col. Benjamin Blount
Lt. Col. James Long
Lt. Col. Joseph Spruill, Jr.

1st Maj. James Long
2nd Maj. Joseph Spruill, Jr.
Maj. Andrew Long

None Known

Known Captains:

James Anderson

Jeremiah Bateman

? Gregory

Richard Hewett

James Howett

Abraham Jennett

Hugh Johnson

? Jones

James Long

James Phelps


? Spruill

Known Lieutenants - Captain Unknown:


Jonathan Sawyer


Known Sergeants - Captain Unknown:


Benjamin Alexander 


Known Privates / Fifers / Drummers, etc. - Captain Unknown:

 Nathaniel Everett


Joseph Everitt

Brief History of the Regiment:

On September 9, 1775, the Provincial Congress authorized thirty-five (35) existing county Militias to be organized. All officers were appointed and commissioned by the Provincial Congress.

The Tyrrell County Regiment was active until the end of the war. Units of this regiment were known to have participated in the following known battles/skirmishes:


Known Battles / Skirmishes:


Briar Creek (GA)


Siege of Charleston 1780 (SC)


Eutaw Springs (SC)

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved