The American Revolution in North Carolina

Hyde County Regiment of Militia

Date Established:


Original Officers:

September 9, 1775

Col. Rotheas Latham
Col. Abraham Jones
Col. William Russell
Col. Burridge H. Selby

Col. Rotheas Latham
Lt. Col. Benjamin Parmelin
1st Maj. William Russell
2nd Maj. Thomas Jones

Known Lt. Colonels:

Known Majors: 

Known Adjutants:

Lt. Col. Benjamin Parmelin
Lt. Col. John Eborne
Lt. Col. Robert Jennett

1st Maj. William Russell
2nd Maj. Thomas Jones

Caleb Mason

Known Captains:

John Eborne

Caleb Forman

Jerry Gaylord

Stephen Gaylord

Benjamin Gibbs

Joseph Gibbs, Jr.

Robert Jennett

Solomon Jones

Caleb Mason

Solomon Rew

Reuben Roundtree

Thomas Smith

Known Lieutenants - Captain Unknown:

William Watson

Samuel Weston

Caleb White


Anthony Wise


Known Ensigns - Captain Unknown:


Edward Gray


Known Sergeants - Captain Unknown:


Samuel Selby, Jr. 


Known Privates / Fifers / Drummers, etc. - Captain Unknown:

Benjamin Balance 

Richard Brinn

Stephen Brooks

Henry Carrow

Thomas Carrow

John Carrowon, Jr.

Joseph Carrowon

William Carrowon

John Clayton

William Cox

Francis Cradle

Charles Cutrell

David Cutrell

Peter Cutrell

Daniel Daniels

James Davison

John Dixon

Benjamin Gaylord

Henry Gibbs

Jeremiah Gibbs

Joseph Gibbs

Robert Gibbs

Robert Gray

David Green

Ezekiel Harris

John Harris

Stephen Harris

Thomas Harris

William Harris

Hugh Henry

Samuel Henrys

Anthony Hutson

William Hutson

John Jennett

Abraham Jones

Abraham Jones, Sr.

James Jones

Richard Jones

Thomas Jordan

John Lockhart

John Mason

Charles Mooney

John Moore

Jeremiah Murden

John Neal

Nathaniel Owen

John Selby

Samuel Selby, Sr.

William Selby

Robert Silverthorn

Paul Sparrow

Edward Spencer

John Spencer, Sr.

Nathan Spencer

Job Surmon

Joseph Surmon

Peter Surmon

Thomas Surmon

Abraham Swindell

Caleb Swindell

Caleb Swindell, Sr.

Joseph Swindell

Josiah Swindell


Zedekiah Swindell


Brief History of the Regiment:

On September 9, 1775, the Provincial Congress authorized thirty-five (35) existing county Militias to be organized. All officers were appointed and commissioned by the Provincial Congress.

The Hyde County Regiment was active until the end of the war. Units of this regiment were known to have participated in the following known battles/skirmishes:


Known Battles / Skirmishes:


Cape Hatteras #2


Guilford Court House

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved