The American Revolution in North Carolina

Currituck County Regiment of Militia

Date Established:


Original Officers:

September 9, 1775

Col. Samuel Jarvis
Col. Hollowell Williams
Col. Solomon Perkins

Col. Samuel Jarvis
Lt. Col. Dennis Dauge
1st Maj. Taylor Jones
2nd Maj. Josiah Nicholson

Known Lt. Colonels:

Known Majors: 

Known Adjutants:

Lt. Col. Dennis Dauge
Lt. Col. Thomas Jarvis
Lt. Col. Adam Perkins
Lt. Col. Solomon Perkins
Lt. Col. John Poynter

1st Maj. Taylor Jones
2nd Maj. Josiah Nicholson
Maj. Isaiah Parr
Maj. John Poynter
Maj. Ashael Simmonds

None Known

Known Captains:

Belsher Daniel

Dennis Dauge

? Duke

Andrew Duke

John Everington

Timothy Ewing

William Ferity

Nathan Hall

John Jarvis

Thomas Jarvis

Solomon Perkins

James Phillips

George Powers

Nathan Poyner

Thomas Poyner

William Russell

Alexander Whitehall

John Williams


William Worthan


Brief History of the Regiment:

On September 9, 1775, the Provincial Congress authorized thirty-five (35) existing county Militias to be organized. All officers were appointed and commissioned by the Provincial Congress.

The Currituck County Regiment was active until the end of the war. Units of this regiment were known to have participated in the following known battles/skirmishes:


Known Battles / Skirmishes:


Great Bridge (VA)


Briar Creek (GA)


Camden (SC)


Siege of Charleston 1780 (SC)

© 2013 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved