The American Revolution in North Carolina

North Carolina Counties - 1777 to 1779

NC Counties 1775 to 1777

NC Counties 1779 to 1783

NC Counties 1783

In April of 1777, the legislature of North Carolina transitioned immediately from a Provincial Congress to a State General Assembly, based upon the recently adoped State Constitution of December 18, 1776. At the first session, the newly-seated legislators resolved to create six new counties, and they appointed commissioners to make these a reality as quickly as possible.

The six districts that were established in 1775 were retained, however, Martin County was reassigned to the Halifax District, and removed from the Edenton District.

Political power still resided in the eastern section of the state, as it had for over a century under British rule. However, with an increasing influx of newcomers to the piedmont and the mountains - and beyond - the eastern section was quite aware that its power was not to last forever. Westward expansion was manifest destiny. But, the easterners always had one more trick up their sleeves to hold onto power as long as possible.

For every new county created in the piedmont and in the mountains, the easterners demanded that an existing coastal (or nearby) county be split, with a new eastern county established at the same time. This more than offset the growing power of the piedmont. And, this practice would be repeated continually over the next one hundred years plus, until the state finally decided in 1911 that 100 counties was enough.

© 2009 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved