North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Permit Certain Persons in Jackson County to Attend the Public School at Whittier's in Swain County.

1897 Public Laws: Chapter 485

Public Laws and Resolutions of the State of North Carolina Passed in 1897 - Page 661.

The General Assembly of North Carolina do enact:

Section 1. That the board of commissioners of Jackson County are hereby authorized and empowered, if in their judgment they may deem it advisable to do so, to permit all persons in said county of Jackson, of lawful school age, who may desire to do so, to attend the public school at Whittier in Swain County, who reside in the boundary hereinafter designated.

Sec. 2. That the said boundary line shall be as follows: Beginning on the top of the mountain, in the Jackson County line, on the east side of Conley's Creek and at the head of the Lewis Branch; thence down said branch with its meanders, crossing the Tuckasiege River at the mouth of Crooked Creek, to a stake; thence up said creek with its meanders to the mouth of the branch on which Marion Grreen lives; thence up said branch to its source; thence through the ridges in a northeasterly direction to the Swain County line; thence with the Swain County line to the beginning: Provided, that the county commissioners may, if they deem it best, allow only a certain number of persons of lawful school age, residing in the boundary above named, to attend said public school at Whittier in said county of Swain.

Sec. 3. All laws and clauses of laws militating against this Act are hereby repealed.

Sec. 4. This Act shall be in force from and after its ratification.

Ratified the 9th day of March, A.D. 1897.

Daniel L. Russell, Jr., Governor
Charles A. Reynolds, Lt. Governor and President of the Senate
A.F. Hileman, Speaker of the House of Representatives

State of North Carolina,
Office of Secretary of State,
Raleigh, April 28th, 1897.

I, Cyrus Thompson, Secretary of State, hereby certify that
the foregoing (manuscript) are true copies of the original acts
and resolutions on file in this office.

Cyrus Thompson,
Secretary of State.

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved