North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate the Swain County High School in Swain County.

1897 Private Laws: Chapter 168

Private Laws of the State of North Carolina Passed in 1897 - Pages 352-353.

The General Assembly of North Carolina do enact:

Section 1. That W. H. Queen, S. B. Gibson, T. J. Calhoun, J. A. Franks, A. J. Hall, W. B. Cole, T. G. Chambers, D.Whiteside and D. DeHart, and their successors, chosen in any way the Baptist churches, their unions or associations, may direct, shall be and they are hereby constituted a body corporate, to be known as the board of trustees of Swain County High School, with the powers and duties, and for the purposes and interests, as hereafter given.

Sec. 2. The union shall annually appoint five trustees to cooperate with the trustees appointed by the association, a majority of whom shall constitute a quorum with power to get by gift or purchase and hold real estate and other property, amounting to not less than one thousand dollars, consisting of lands for school site, and other lands, money, etc., for investment in said school and its objects.

Sec. 3. The trustees shall have a president, secretary, treasurer and financial agent to be incorporated by Act of the general assembly of North Carolina, and treasurer shall give for faithful management of all funds put into his hands.

Sec. 4. The trustees, in acquiring property for school, shall take warrantee deeds to all lands which they may be able to get by gift or purchase, at a value fixed betwixt them and the parties. The trustees may authorize their financial agents to accept lands, other property and money in the name of their corporate body for the use of said high school. They may arrange also for a permanent fund for the support of said school the income of which shall only be used.

Sec. 5. The trustees shall never receive any gift from the state or any individual which shall hinder the use of the same in imparting any instruction consistent with the New Testament, under the management of the Baptists of Swain County, North Carolina.

Sec. 6. The trustees may open books of subscription and secure stock for the purpose of said high school, said stock to be divided into shares of ten dollars each, the aggregate of stock being not less than one thousand nor over ten thousand dollars, and the treasurer shall keep books of record in which all proceedings and investments shall be entered and open to inspection at any time.

Sec. 7. The trustees may allow churches and Sunday schools to take stock in said high school, and individuals may take stock, and the stock may be payable in advance or on good notes payable in one, two, three and five years.

Sec. 8. The trustees shall not have the power to mortgage or sell said school site or any part of it as long as the Swain County High School exists, but they may lease, under safe contracts, to parties who will build dormitories, always giving liberal advantage to poor, worthy students, who wish to obtain an education, but no term of lease shall exceed twenty years.

Sec. 9. That the treasurer may use one thousand dollars to erect a suitable school house; that the expenses thereby incurred be well husbanded and concerned.

Sec. 10. The trustees shall have power to employ teachers for said school, the principal of which shall be a graduate of Wake Forest, or some other good college of high standing, and as early as possible make the school so as to prepare its students for business or college—students be of both sexes. The trustees may meet quarterly or oftener for business.

Sec. 11. That this Act shall be in force from and after its ratification.

Ratified the 9th day of March, A.D. 1897.

Daniel L. Russell, Jr., Governor
Charles A. Reynolds, Lt. Governor and President of the Senate
A.F. Hileman, Speaker of the House of Representatives

State of North Carolina,
Office of Secretary of State,
Raleigh, April 28th, 1897.

I, Cyrus Thompson, Secretary of State, hereby certify that
the foregoing (manuscript) are true copies of the original acts
and resolutions on file in this office.

Cyrus Thompson,
Secretary of State.

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved