North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate Red Springs Seminary.

1897 Private Laws: Chapter 210

Private Laws of the State of North Carolina Passed in 1897 - Pages 427-428.

The General Assembly of North Carolina do enact:

Section 1. That S. M. Rankin, W. B. Arrowood, F. N. Tom, J. W. McLauchlin, J. L. McMillan and G. B. Patterson, their associates and successors, be and they are hereby created a body politic and corporate for the purpose of maintaining a school of high grade in the town of Red Springs, in the county of Robeson, for the intellectual, moral and religious development and training of young ladies, under the name and style of Red Springs Seminary, and in that name may sue and be sued, may plead and be impleaded, contract and be contracted with, acquire, hold and convey in their corporate capacity property, personal and real, to an amount not to exceed one hundred thousand dollars, and exercise all acts in relation thereto incident to the ownership of personal property and real estate.

Sec. 2. The members of the corporation shall have perpetual succession, and may, if they so elect, have and use a common seal.

Sec. 3. That the officers of said corporation shall be a president, vice-president, treasurer, secretary and a board of six trustees, four of whom shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business, and all of whom shall be elected by Fayetteville Presbytery of the North Carolina Synod of the Presbyterian Church at its spring meeting of each year, and shall hold their office for the term of three years: Provided, that at the first meeting of Fayetteville Presbytery, after the ratification of this Act, the said board of trustees shall be divided into three classes of two persons each; the term of office of the first-class shall be one year from the meeting of said presbytery; of the second, two years; and of the third, three years.

Sec. 4. That the board of trustees of said corporation shall not have the power to mortgage or sell any of the real estate belonging to the same, without first having obtained the consent and permission of Fayetteville Presbytery.

Sec. 5. That the said board of trustees shall have the exclusive right to elect a president of said Red Springs Seminary, and such professors, tutors and officers as they shall think proper.

Sec. 6. That the president and professors of said Red Springs Seminary shall be the faculty thereof, and with the advice and consent of the trustees shall have power to grant diplomas, conferring such degrees and marks of literary distinction as are usually conferred in colleges.

Sec. 7. All bequests and donations to the seminary shall be the property of Fayetteville Presbytery.

Sec. 8. The individual property of the trustees of said corporation shall not be liable for the debt of the same.

Sec. 9. The officers of the corporation, until the election and qualification of their successors, shall be as follows: G. B. Patterson, president; Rev. W. B. Arrowood, vice-president; and Rev. T. M. Rankin, secretary and treasurer, and S. M. Rankin, W. B. Arrowood, F. N. Tom, J. L. McMillan, J. W. McLauchlin and G. B. Patterson, board of trustees.

Sec. 10. This Act shall be in force from and after its ratification.

Ratified the 8th day of March, A.D. 1897.

Daniel L. Russell, Jr., Governor
Charles A. Reynolds, Lt. Governor and President of the Senate
A.F. Hileman, Speaker of the House of Representatives

State of North Carolina,
Office of Secretary of State,
Raleigh, April 28th, 1897.

I, Cyrus Thompson, Secretary of State, hereby certify that
the foregoing (manuscript) are true copies of the original acts
and resolutions on file in this office.

Cyrus Thompson,
Secretary of State.

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved