North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Amend Chapter 112 of the Laws of 1848 and 1849.

1889 Private Laws: Chapter 53

Private Laws of the State of North Carolina Passed in 1889 - Page 601.
Click Here to view the original Act of January 27, 1849, as amended below.

The General Assembly of North Carolina do enact:

Section 1. Whereas, Charles Latham, Thos. E. Pender, Jas. Ramsey, H. G. Gamil, F. F. Fagan, Edgar Hankes, Jas. B. Griffin, John H. Hampton and Thos. B. Nichols were constituted trustees of the Plymouth Academy by chapter one hundred and twelve, section one, of the laws of one thousand eight hundred and forty-eight and one thousand eight hundred and forty-nine; and whereas, all said trustees except Charles Latham are dead, and the vacancies caused thereby have not been filled, that J. F. Norman, W. H. Stubbs, Jas. Tucker, A. O. Gaylord, N. B. Teages, S. T. Harrison, L. H. Hornthal and J. P. Hilliard be constituted trustees in the place of said deceased trustees, with all the power and authority given in said Act to the trustees named therein.

Sec. 2. That section three of said Act of one thousand eight hundred and forty-eight and one thousand eight hundred and forty-nine be amended so as to read as follows, viz.: "That in case of any vacancy for any cause in said board of trustees, the remaining trustees shall elect a suitable person to fill the same."

Sec. 3. That this Act shall be in force from and after its ratification.

Ratified the 25th day of February, A.D. 1889.

Daniel G. Fowle, Governor
Thomas M. Holt, Lt. Governor and President of the Senate
Augustus Leazar, Speaker of the House of Representatives

State of North Carolina,
Office Secretary of State,
Raleigh, June 6, 1889.

I, William L. Saunders, Secretary of State, hereby certify that the
foregoing are true copies of the original acts and resolutions on file
in this office.

William L. Saunders,
Secretary of State.

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved