North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate the Roanoke Non-Sectarian Male and Female Academy on Roanoke River.

1881 Public Laws: Chapter 275

Public Laws of the State of North Carolina Passed in 1881 - Pages 499-501.

The General Assembly of North Carolina do enact:

Section 1. That G. W. Jones, S. Wiggins, G. McDonald, Mack Bowens, John Bell, Jerry Hawkins, Frank Fessenden, Frank James, Friley James, Prosper Armstead, G. W. Parmley, Alex. Hicks, Jr., B. B. James, A. Lee, West Jones, Alfred Rhodes, Alfred Petteford, Virgil Nichols, Amos Petteford, W. H. Leith, Jack Pettiford, B. J. Lynox, Moses Norman, Stewart Moore, of the county of Washington; J. P. Butler, Collin Green, Willis Moore, Burt Greene, Bennett Burgess, Samuel Cross, Luke Williams, Jack Rayner, Alfred Thompson, of the county of Martin; A. Robbins, B. Holly, G. A. Mebane and Turner Speller, of the county of Bertie; David Lee, Phillip McDonald, T. N. Benbury, Junius Nichols, C. Bookroom and John Davis, of the county of Chowan; Hugh Cale, of the county of Pasquotank; Jarvis Williams and Mack Moore, of the county of Beaufort; Richard Creecy, of the county of Tyrrell; Zion H. Berry, of the county of Camden; Richard Etheridge, of the county of Dare; John A. Faulk, of the county of Perquimans; Jacob Hosier, of the county of Currituck; Solomon King and W. K. Newsome, of the county of Hertford; Richard Higgs and Henry Johnston, of the county of Halifax, and their associates and successors in office, be and they are hereby constituted a body politic and corporate by the name and style of "Trustees of Roanoke Non-Sectarian Male and Female Academy," a seminary of learning in Eastern Carolina, on Roanoke river, at Plymouth, in the county of Washington, state of North Carolina; and as such and by said name of the Trustees of Roanoke Non-Sectarian Male and Female Academy shall be authorized and empowered in law to sue and be sued, to plead and be impleaded, to use a common seal, to have a constitution and to make such by-laws and rules for the regulation and government of said "academy," as they may deem necessary and proper, to alter or change the name of said "academy," whenever a two-third majority of all concurring think necessary and proper for the promotion and good of said seminary: Provided, however, That said seminary shall ever remain non-sectarian in every and all respects, and that said constitution, by-laws, rules, and so forth, are not intentionally made in the interest of any one separate and distinct sectarian or secret association, or the like, and are not inconsistent with the constitution and laws of the United States or of this state.

Sec. 2. That the said board of trustees, associates or successors are or shall be authorized to appoint a managing or supervising board of trustees from their number, and all other such officers as they may think necessary and proper for the organization of their own body, and also all the officers, professors, tutors and instructors of and in said academy: Provided, That no member of said board of trustees, associates or successors, or any one else, shall be elected or appointed to any office for or in said academy on account of his or her religious professions, belief or opinions, or connection with any secret organization.

Sec. 3. That said trustees and their successors shall have and hold all the estate, real and personal property and funds now belonging to said academy, or may hereafter be bequeathed, conveyed, granted, appropriated or given to said seminary of learning, in trust nevertheless for the use and benefit of said academy.

Sec. 4. That said trustees shall be elected or appointed a term of one, two or four years, by a majority of the board of trustees and their associates of the several counties and adjacent counties on the Albemarle Sound, Roanoke and Chowan rivers, at their regular annual or biennial sessions, whose term of office has not then expired; and the said trustees shall be divided as equal as may be into one, two or more classes, so that all, one-half or more may be chosen every first or second year, after such division or arrangement takes place: the said trustees shall also be empowered to fill all vacancies which may occur by death, resignation or otherwise.

Sec. 5. This Act shall be considered a public Act and continue in force for the term of ten years or until repealed.

Sec. 6. This Act shall be in force from and after its ratification.

Ratified this the 10th day of March, A.D. 1881.

Thomas J. Jarvis, Governor
Charles M. Cooke, Speaker of the House of Representatives
James L. Robinson, Lt. Governor and President of the Senate

State of North Carolina,
Office Secretary of State,
Raleigh, May 14th, 1881.

I, William L. Saunders, Secretary of State, hereby
certify that the foregoing are true copies of the original
acts and resolutions on file in this office.

William L. Saunders,
Secretary of State.

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved