North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Appoint Additional Trustees of Newton Academy, in Buncombe County.

1879 Private Laws: Chapter 107

Private Laws of the State of North Carolina Passed in 1879 - Pages 782-783.

The General Assembly of North Carolina do enact:

Section 1. That Alexander Penland, David M. Stevens, Henry Davidson, B. J. Alexander, T. C. Westall, Thomas D. Neill, Jesse M. Patton, Hamilton McDowell, W. J. Alexander and Augustus Mears are hereby appointed additional trustees of Newton Academy, Buncombe County, with all the powers of tbe original trustees.

Sec. 2. This Act shall take effect from its ratification.

Ratified the 14th Day of March, A.D. 1879.

Thomas J. Jarvis, Governor
John M. Moring, Speaker of the House of Representatives
James L. Robinson, Lt. Governor and President of the Senate

State of North Carolina,
Office Secretary of State,
Raleigh, May 19th, 1879.

I, William L. Saunders, Secretary of State, hereby
certify that the foregoing are true copies of the original
acts and resolutions on file in this office.

William L. Saunders,
Secretary of State.

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved