North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate Rutherford Academy in Burke County.

1858-1859 Private Laws: Chapter 63

Private Laws of the State of North Carolina Passed in 1858-59 - Page 3.

Section 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That R. L. Abernathy, Daniel P. Johnson, John Sides, Peter Fincannon and William W. Connelly, and four other persons to be by the above named selected, all of the county of Burke, and their successors be, and they are hereby constituted a body corporate and politic, to be known and distinguished by the name and style of the "Trustees of Rutherford Academy;" and by that name, shall have perpetual succession, and may hold and convey, real, personal and mixed property, not exceeding one hundred thousand dollars.

Sec. 2. Be it further enacted, That this Act shall be in force from and after its ratification.

Ratified the 17th day of February, 1859.

John W. Ellis, Governor
Thomas Settle, Jr., Speaker of the House of Commons
Henry Toole Clark, Speaker of the Senate

State of North Carolina
Office of Secretary of State, April, 1859.

I, Rufus H. Page, Secretary of State, in and for the State of North Carolina,
do hereby certify that the Acts and Resolutions contained in this Pamphlet,
are true copies of the original Acts and Resolutions, passed by the General
Assembly of this State, at its late session.

Rufus H. Page, Secretary of State

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved