North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate the Yadkin Institute, in the County of Davidson.

1854-1855 Private Laws: Chapter 66

Private Laws of the State of North Carolina Passed in 1854-55 - Page 13.

Sec 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That Henry Walser, Thomas C. Crump, Alexander Robbins, J. J. Gamble, Allison Gray, David L. Michael, Jourdan Rominger, David,Weasner, and John A. Davis be, and they are hereby constituted a body corporate [and] politic, by the name and style of the "Yadkin Institute;" and by that name may sue, and be sued, plead and be impleaded, shall have succession and a common seal, and, in general, shall have, exercise, and enjoy all such rights, powers and privileges as are usually exercised and enjoyed by trustees of any incorporated academy within this State.

Sec. 2. Be it further enacted, That any five of the trustees may constitute a quorum for the transaction of business, and that, on the refusal of any of the trustees to act, or in case of death or removal out of the State, any of the trustees of the institute aforesaid, the remaining trustees, shall have power to fill such vacancy.

Ratified the 3rd day of February, 1855.

Thomas Bragg, Jr., Governor
Samuel P. Hill, Speaker of the House of Commons
Warren H. Winslow Speaker of the Senate

North Carolina
Office of Secretary of State, April, 1855.

I, William Hill, Secretary of State in and for the State of North Carolina,
do hereby certify that the Acts and Resolutions contained in this Pamphlet
are true copies of the original Acts and Resolutions passed by the General
Assembly of this State, at its late session.

William Hill, Secretary of State

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved