North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate Franklin Institute, at Cedar Rock, in the County of Franklin.

1846-1847 - Private Acts - Chapter CVIII

Laws of the State of North Carolina Passed in 1846-1847 - Page 255.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That J. B. Outlaw, D. S. Outlaw, W. Copidge, A. W. Pierce, J. J. Thomas, P. Arrington, Thomas Stokes and Dr. Gray Sills, be, and they are hereby constituted a body politic and corporate, by the name and style of the "Trustees of Franklin Institue;" and by that name may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded; shall have a succession and a common seal; and in general shall have, exercise, and enjoy all such rights, powers and privileges, as are usually exercised and enjoyed, by the trustees of any incorporated Academy within this State.

Sec. 2. Be it further enacted, That any three of the trustees may constitute a quorum for the transaction of business; and that on the death, refusal to act, or removal out of the State, of any of the trustees of the "Institute" aforesaid, the remaining trustees shall have power to fill such vacancy.

Ratified 8th of January, 1847.

William Alexander Graham, Governor
Edward Stanly, Speaker of the House of Commons
Andrew Joyner, Speaker of the Senate

Secretary of State's Office, April 1847

I, William Hill, Secretary of State in and for the State of North Carolina,
do hereby certify that the Acts and Resolutions contained in this Pamphlet
are true copies of the original Acts and Resolutions passed by the General
Assembly of this State, at its late session.

William Hill, Secretary of State

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved