North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate the Trustees of Hopewell Academy Near Stantonsburg in Edgecombe County.

1840-1841 - Private Acts - Chapter IV

Laws of the State of North Carolina Passed in 1840-1841 - Pages 117-118.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That John Exum, William Thompson, Zadock Peacock, Council Applewhite, Wyatt Moye, Lemuel Deberry, Elias Barnes, Washington M. Stanton and Lewis Ellis, be, and they are hereby incorporated, by the name and style of the "Trustees of Hopewell Academy," and by that name, shall have succession and a common seal, sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, acquire by purchase, gift or otherwise, to them and their successors, estate real and personal, for the use of the Academy, and to make all such bye-laws, rules and regulations, necessary for the good government of said Institution, not inconsistent with the Constitution and Laws of this State. And in case of a vacancy, occurring by death, resignation or otherwise, of said Trustees, the remainder or a majority of them, may appoint successors to the same, who shall have the same powers and authorities, as the Trustees constituted by the provisions of this Act.

Ratified this, the 11th day of January, A.D. 1841.

John M. Morehead, Governor
Robert B. Gilliam, Speaker of the House of Commons
Andrew Joyner, Speaker of the Senate

Secretary of State's Office, April, 1841

I, William Hill, Secretary of State in and for the State of North Carolina,
do hereby certify that the Acts and Resolutions contained in this Pamphlet
are true copies of the original Acts and Resolutions passed by the General
Assembly of this State, at its late session.

William Hill, Secretary of State

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved