North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate the Trustees of the Randolph Female Academy, in Randolph County.

1838-1839 - Private Acts Chapter VII

Laws of the State of North Carolina Passed in 1838-1839 - Page 95.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That Jonathan Worth, Alexander Gray, John E. Troy, Hugh McCain, George Hoover, James M. A. Drake, A. H. Marsh, H. B. Elliott, Jesse Larrance, S. B. Glenn and Samuel Hill and their successors, are hereby declared to be a body corporate and politic, to be known and distinguished by the name of the "Trustees of the Randolph Female Academy, and by that name shall have succession, and shall be able and capable in law to have, receive, and possess any lands, tenements or goods that may be given them, and apply the same according to the will of the donor, or dispose of the same, if not forbidden by the terms of said gift; they may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded in any Court of Law in this State, shall have power to appoint to any vacancies which may arise in the Board of Trustees, and establish such laws and regulations for the government of said institution, as may be necessary for the preservation of good morals, and do all such acts as are necessary for the establishment of said Academy.

II. And be it further enacted, That three of said Trustees shall be a sufficient number to do and perform any business appertaining to said Academy.

III. Be it further enacted, That this Act shall enure and continue in force for the space of thirty years, and no longer.

Ratified 8th January, 1839

Edward B. Dudley, Governor
William A. Graham, Speaker of the House of Commons
Andrew Joyner, Speaker of the Senate

Secretary of State's Office, April, 1839

I, William Hill, Secretary of State in and for the State of North Carolina,
do hereby certify that the Acts and Resolutions contained in this Pamphlet
are true copies of the original Acts and Resolutions passed by the General
Assembly of this State, at its late session.

William Hill, Secretary of State

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved