North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Establish Hannah Moore Academy in the County of Duplin, and to Incorporate the Trustees Thereof.

1834-1835 - Chapter XXXI

Acts Passed by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina 1834-1835 - Page 24.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That Alexander McInver, James Dickson, James K. Hill, James Pearsall, Joeph T. Rhodes, William L. Hill, Stephen Miller, Harold Blackmore, George E. Houston, Thomas Hill, Harper Williams, Richard Miller, John Oliver, James M. Larkins, Jeremiah Pearsall, Edward D. Hill and William D. Pearsall, be and they are hereby incorporated by the name and style of the "Trustees of Hannah Moore Academy;" and by that name shall be able and capable in law, to sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, acquire by purchase, gift or otherwise, to them and their successors, estate real and personal, for the use of the Academy; and enjoy all other powers, privileges and immunities, incident to bodies corporate of the like nature.

II. Be it further enacted, That any five of said trustees may constitute a quorum for the transaction of business; and that on the death, refusal to act, or removal out of the State, of any of the trustees, the remaining trustees shall have power to fill the vacancy or vacancies occasioned thereby.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly,
this10th day of January, 1835.

David L. Swain, Governor
William J. Alexander, Speaker of the House of Commons
William D. Moseley, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy. William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved