North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Establish Franklin Academy, in the County of Surry, and to Incorporate the Trustees Thereof.

1833-1834 - Chapter L

Acts Passed by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina 1833-1834 - Page 52.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That Matthew M. Hughes, William P. Dobson, Jesse A. Waugh, William G. Haynes and Francis K. Armstrong, be, and they are hereby constituted a body corporate and politic, by the name and style of "The Trustees of Franklin Academy." in the county of Surry; and by that name may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded; shall have perpetual succession and a common seal; and in general shall have, exercise and enjoy all such rights, powers and privileges as are usually exercised and enjoyed by the trustees of any incorporated academy in this State.

II. Be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, That any three of the said trustees may constitute a quorum for the transaction of business; and that on the death, refusal to act, resignation or removal of any of the trustees out of the county or State, the remaining trustees shall have power to fill the vacancy thereby occasioned.

III. Be it further enacted, That this Act shall be in force from and after its passage.

IV. Be it further enacted, That the provisions of this Act shall cease to have effect from and after the term of twenty years from and after the passage thereof.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly,
this13th day of January, 1834.

David L. Swain, Governor
William J. Alexander, Speaker of the House of Commons
William D. Moseley, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy, William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved